Harden Your Arteries Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Truly the best-ever flaky piecrust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is tender, tasty, and very easy to make. It even comes out well when you accidentally add a tablespoon of vinegar instead of a teaspoon like I did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I tried this recipe with the fresh rhubarb pie recipe on this site and I didn't think it tasted very good. I don't think that I liked using the lard. Will go back to my old pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO ROLL A CRUST UNTIL THIS RECIPE. CRUST IS EASY FLAKY AND TASTE GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My grandmother back in Iowa summers used to make this crust for all her pies and they were the very best pies ever.The lard adds a wonderful oldtime taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance Alese Singley Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Super freakin' easy for someone who's admittedly crust stupid. I did chill this dough overnight so it would be ready for what I needed today. I used this as the bottom crust for the Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel. Came out great! I'll use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is the only pie crust - same as my mother made - my sisters make & I make. Please remember that "lard" is natural - no artifical junk like - Crisco - shortening - corn oil - thats what will harden your arteries. Not that lard is "good" for you - but lard and butter are better than that other stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this crust with peach pie recipe from this site and it was excellent. My son said it was the best peach pie he's ever eaten, and he doesn't like peach pie! Light and flaky, just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Once again I've found a winner! This crust was easy to make, easy to work with, and of course most importantly-Delicious! My elderly neighbor told me a few ingredients in her coveted crusts so I did some searching and this is the closest I've found to it and so good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LalaBeansMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This recipe has great potential but I had to dock it a star because it should have called for water in the ingredients in the first place and not just "add it if you need it." It definitely needed it, a good tablespoon, and because I added only a teaspoon or so at a time I ended up working the dough a little more than I should have. But it is definitely worth making again as the egg contributes richness and flavor and the vinegar is known to contribute flakiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States