Harden Your Arteries Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
All right - Health Police - back off right now! This is GREAT pie crust - tender - flakey - everything a pie crust should be. Besides - I would rather eat lard or butter than hydrogenated shortening. I used this for chicken pot pie. It is a keeper! I doubled the recipe for a top and bottom crust. Note - freeze the lard in small cubes. I made this in the food processor, with short pulses - blended the flour and salt - added the lard - pulse - then added the egg and vinegar mixed together - pulse and then about 2 teaspoons of water. This will be my go to recipe for the holiday baking season. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is the only pie crust - same as my mother made - my sisters make & I make. Please remember that "lard" is natural - no artifical junk like - Crisco - shortening - corn oil - thats what will harden your arteries. Not that lard is "good" for you - but lard and butter are better than that other stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This recipe has great potential but I had to dock it a star because it should have called for water in the ingredients in the first place and not just "add it if you need it." It definitely needed it, a good tablespoon, and because I added only a teaspoon or so at a time I ended up working the dough a little more than I should have. But it is definitely worth making again as the egg contributes richness and flavor and the vinegar is known to contribute flakiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Super freakin' easy for someone who's admittedly crust stupid. I did chill this dough overnight so it would be ready for what I needed today. I used this as the bottom crust for the Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel. Came out great! I'll use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is tender, tasty, and very easy to make. It even comes out well when you accidentally add a tablespoon of vinegar instead of a teaspoon like I did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Truly the best-ever flaky piecrust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My grandmother back in Iowa summers used to make this crust for all her pies and they were the very best pies ever.The lard adds a wonderful oldtime taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance Alese Singley Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO ROLL A CRUST UNTIL THIS RECIPE. CRUST IS EASY FLAKY AND TASTE GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was SO EASY to roll out, I can't believe the difference compared to shortening. Very tasty with my chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is not bad, but there are a couple of mechanical issues with this recipe as written. I had to add more lard, there just wasn't enough for all the flour. I used 1/2 cup lard, which is still less than the general pie-making guideline and half fat to flour ratio. I even added more than 1 tsp vinegar and needed more than 1 tbsp water. Also, I think the egg would be easier to mix in if it were pre-beaten. The recipe sounded like it wanted the egg as in added into the flour mixture and by doing this it wasn't as easy to bring together and the yolk was hard to distribute it evenly. I do agree with other reviewers that this was super easy to roll out, and I have no complaints about the taste. I think though I'll stick with my favourite recipe for next time - Grandma's Secret Pie Crust on this website. Similar to this one but comes together more easily. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States