Hard Taco Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Having lived in Southern California, I learned to make my own hard taco shells years ago. I'm sure these are great, as made, but you don't really need an inch of oil; a 1/4 of an inch of oil will do just fine; and as some reviewers have said, once you've made your own, you'll never go back to the store's shells again. Thanks, to the reviewer who suggested doing the same with flour tortillas; I'll have to give that a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I have never used purchased taco shells...I've always made my own. This is the exact method I use, only I don't salt the taco shells. Probably personal preference. I have long scissor-type tongs for this purpose and they work great (not the kind you push on the end to open). And yes, if your shells are soggy your oil was either not hot enough, or your tortillas were old. We've gotten to like slightly LESS crunchy taco shells lately, but that just means I fry them for a shorter amount of time. I place the tortilla in hot oil (test with a tiny sliver of tortilla....if the oil is hot enough, it will sizzle when you drop it in). Leave it flat for about 5 seconds, turn it over and fold it in half. Grab the shell by the top, and just keep frying until it reaches the desired crispness. I drain them, upside down, on layers of paper towels. BTW, you can make awesome homemake tortilla chips the same way by simply cutting the tortillas in triangles. I usually stack 4-5 up and cut with my pizza cutter. I fry the tortilla chips first, before I make my taco shells. I *do* sprinkle the chips with salt when they're first out of the oil (otherwise it won't stick). Oh! And my son prefers the flour shells, which are amazingly good too. They just take a little practice as they puff up quickly and it can be hard to crease them once they're puffy. Turn down the heat a tad for flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
yumi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Fast and easy way to make crispy taco shells. Like many other reviews have said, MAKE SURE OIL IS HOT when you place them in the oil, or the tortillas will end up absorbing the oil and they'll be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Fantastic crispy shells! This was a really easy process with a short and fast learning curve. The first couple of shells I followed the directions to a T and the shells were too crisp to fold over, so then I tried using a wooden spoon and folding them over it as soon as they hit the oil, cooking for about 15 seconds then turning the folded taco shell over to cook the other side and that worked out much better for me. I used the metal tongs to help hold the bottom fold open while cooking. I didn't measure the temp of my oil, I used the wooden spoon method. (When you put the end of the spoon handle into the oil, if it starts to bubble around the spoon, then the oil is hot and ready for use.) These turned out perfectly and were far tastier than the store bought premade shells that you crisp in the oven. Once the oil was hot, this was a very fast process overall and to make a dozen only takes a few minutes. This same recipe will also make tostada shells, crispy taco bowls, or if you cut the tortillas into strips or quarters you can make homemade restaurant style chips just as easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The only way to make taco shells! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This came in handy as I needed to fry up some yellow corn tortillas for, "Taco Salad I," also from this website. I used an entire bag of small corn tortillas. Frying them up was easy. I drained them on a baking sheet lined with lots of paper towels and sprinkled them with hawaiian sea salt. Instead of using these shells to fill up with meat, I broke them up into tortilla chips for the salad. These are much tastier than the store bought taco shells! Next time I might take another reviewers tip and spray it with cooking spray and bake them in the oven to cut back on the amount of fat and cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is how I've made hard tacos for years. I've never used a rack or anything. I usually put a folded paper towel on a paper plate, fry the taco and then place in the plate. I flip it after a bit so the oil is soaked up on the both sides. Season with some salt and we're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I took a coffee can lid and bent it half to place the taco shell around and with tongs put in oil and when done fliped it over to cook other side...comes out just like the store bought ones about 1/2 inch wide to put in taco mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I tried to bake these and drape them over the cooking rack like another user suggested but they kept falling off XD So I just went for frying and, I really liked them. And they're so much cheaper than the hard shell ones you buy at the store. If they aren't as crispy as you want after you fry them, then go ahead and put them in the oven for a bit. But not too long, you don't want to burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States