Hard Taco Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Fast and easy way to make crispy taco shells. Like many other reviews have said, MAKE SURE OIL IS HOT when you place them in the oil, or the tortillas will end up absorbing the oil and they'll be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Fantastic crispy shells! This was a really easy process with a short and fast learning curve. The first couple of shells I followed the directions to a T and the shells were too crisp to fold over, so then I tried using a wooden spoon and folding them over it as soon as they hit the oil, cooking for about 15 seconds then turning the folded taco shell over to cook the other side and that worked out much better for me. I used the metal tongs to help hold the bottom fold open while cooking. I didn't measure the temp of my oil, I used the wooden spoon method. (When you put the end of the spoon handle into the oil, if it starts to bubble around the spoon, then the oil is hot and ready for use.) These turned out perfectly and were far tastier than the store bought premade shells that you crisp in the oven. Once the oil was hot, this was a very fast process overall and to make a dozen only takes a few minutes. This same recipe will also make tostada shells, crispy taco bowls, or if you cut the tortillas into strips or quarters you can make homemade restaurant style chips just as easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The only way to make taco shells! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This came in handy as I needed to fry up some yellow corn tortillas for, "Taco Salad I," also from this website. I used an entire bag of small corn tortillas. Frying them up was easy. I drained them on a baking sheet lined with lots of paper towels and sprinkled them with hawaiian sea salt. Instead of using these shells to fill up with meat, I broke them up into tortilla chips for the salad. These are much tastier than the store bought taco shells! Next time I might take another reviewers tip and spray it with cooking spray and bake them in the oven to cut back on the amount of fat and cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is how I've made hard tacos for years. I've never used a rack or anything. I usually put a folded paper towel on a paper plate, fry the taco and then place in the plate. I flip it after a bit so the oil is soaked up on the both sides. Season with some salt and we're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I took a coffee can lid and bent it half to place the taco shell around and with tongs put in oil and when done fliped it over to cook other side...comes out just like the store bought ones about 1/2 inch wide to put in taco mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I tried to bake these and drape them over the cooking rack like another user suggested but they kept falling off XD So I just went for frying and, I really liked them. And they're so much cheaper than the hard shell ones you buy at the store. If they aren't as crispy as you want after you fry them, then go ahead and put them in the oven for a bit. But not too long, you don't want to burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
kinda greasy, but great way to use up the rest of the tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is really the only way to make a taco shell. It's shameful how many Americans think shells out of a box are Mexican - they are not! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
After reading a lot of the reviews I'm so impressed at everyone's creative methods and certainly will try them. I started frying my taco shells like this a year ago and prefer it. I used to fry the old way which was filling a tortilla with meat then frying. Those are really good but a lot heavier and more fattening being they carry more oil in the meat. This new method the tacos fry up very light, very crunchy, and very addictive. If you over fry them and get them real crunchy, the bottoms crack and everything falls out of the taco so fry but not super hard. A real bonus is that they don't pop oil because there is no meat inside to cause oil to pop-I used to hate that. Get your oil hot but not too hot since the tortillas will fry really fast and burn. Sometimes when I don't feel like fussing with the details of tacos, I throw everything in a bowl, fry up some tortillas that I cut in squares, and have a taco salad-same taste but less work. The downside to frying the shells only is that they are so good you'll want lots of them and so will your family-that means a long time at the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States