Hard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I used confectioner's sugar and whipped butter and I substituted light rum for the brandy since I had none. It was a very nice addition to a raspberry bread and butter pudding. Thanks for sharing, Marc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
As some other reviewers mentioned, I also took the sugar to mean granulated. I had to beat the tar out of it to get rid of most of the grit (I didn't have all day to keep beating this to smooth it out completely). I think this recipe should call for powdered sugar but you may need more than the 1/2 cup called for in this recipe. I also omitted the almond extract and added way more brandy - probably closer to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Yes, definitely confectioners sugar! Plus way more brandy. My family recipe calls for adding brandy to the beaten sugar and butter gradually until the mix can hold no more. The almond extract is not in the traditional old english recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
If you are having problems with the recipe being "gritty", then use powdered sugar. That's the way I've always made it. Start with a half cup and add until it's about the texture of peanut butter. If it's "firm" that's okay because it will melt on the warm bread pudding. I use pure vanilla extract instead of brandy and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Smooth, creamy and absolutely perfect with warm bread pudding. I have also tried the recipe using bourbon or rum with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
To the person that found the sauce 'gritty', you didn't beat the butter and sugar together long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
white sugar, to me, means granulated sugar. recipe was gritty & thick. Was it meant as "powdered sugar"? I was making it to top Bread Pudding. Decided to melt it, then had to make adjustments, as it tasted like sweet melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I made this recipe to go with bread pudding. I took it to work, and my coworkers loved it. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
GREAT! Had made a spice cake and wanted something different instead of plain frosting. I did use confectioner's sugar and had no problem with it being too thin. In fact, I added a bit more brandy. It was wonderful topped on the spice cake and the ex-husband put some on his cheesecake (and took the rest home and PO'd the new wife...evil giggle!) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hvy.Mtl.Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Merci Monsieur Boyer! My french-canadian grandfather used to make a similar sauce to put on his bread pudding and his last name was Boyer too! I figured it had to be a sign. I did add cornstarch and a bit of water to thicken it. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States