Hard Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is a great recipe! We made cinnamon, lemon, cherry and creme de mint. I did not use the powdered sugar and I let the candy cool just a little then ran a pizza cutter through the candy most of the way so we could break it apart in little rectangles and still be able to peel the aluminum foil off easily. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This candy is very good. I am new at making candy, but having a lot of fun testing different ones. But this is easy and good. Best investment is a good candy thermometer. An accurate fast reading one. Important not to stir when boiling. I as many other people didnt, didnt dust with powdered sugar. It would be nice to roll in fine sugar or even coarse sugar instead. If you buy your oil at a craft store as i did, you get 2 small bottles and they are each ONE DRAM. If you half this recipe, you should use a whole dram for a great flavor. Your entire house will smell of cinnamon for a while...but its great. MUST USE OIL, and not extract. Oil is concentrated and tastes better. Cant wait to try other flavors. I have peppermint and want to try strawberry. Give this one a try, you'll love it!!! Also, use parchment paper, SOOOO MUCH easier than foil!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This is so easy and good, Only when mine was cooling i lifted the edges and when it was cool just enough I took peices and rolled it like a "bread stick" and then I cut it into bite size peices in to iceing sugar, I made : wintergreen, champane, rasberry,cinnamon, and bubble gum..I used different colors for every flavour..awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Very good recipe. I used extracts you buy at the store and made a batch of banana, peppermint, orange, strawberry, vanilla nut, raspberry and butter rum. I don't have a candy thermometer so if you boil on medium heat until you can take a small spoon of the mixture and drop it into a bowl of cold water and it instantly hardens - that's a good temperature. Make sure you use a lot of powdered sugar on the foil so it doesn't stick. It takes about an hour or 2 to harden all the way, but you know you did it right if you can touch it and it's hard after a half hour or so. I made half recipes instead of what is above in case one of them didn't turn out, plus it made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I used EXTRACT instead of OIL. Oops! Turned out good anyway. A hint... I had my flavor and color in a custard cup ready and waiting. The color that you see is the color you get - helpful especially with yellow (my lemon candy is rather orange because I used a full tsp of color). Delicious stuff, brings back great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Junkie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
What a wonderful recipe! I have never made hard candy before and this was a breeze! I started out making the cinnamon and also ended up making watermelon, bubble gum, and rootbeer. It was an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
was good but not nearly cinnamony enough, I spent 2 days driving about to find the oil (was a treasure hunt) but the result was good. kids love it. I would suggest adding a bit more cinnamon oil, and be sure you stir the oil in very very well, or else you will get pieces that have none and others that have too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
if you cant find cinnamon oil, regular flavoring works well also. I used strawberry for a batch and peppermint for another. I took them to work and it went over great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This candy is always a hit at the office. With the high heat/boiling, it isn't kid friendly until ready to eat. I've tried cinnamon, lemon, orange and amaretto oils. Just be sure to open a window nearby when you add the oils as they are rather strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very good candy recipe. Added a little more cinnamon. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States