Hard Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This is a recipe that my Mother used to make for us when we were kids. She would flavor it with vanilla and put food coloring in it. And we would pour it onto buttered waxed paper and when it was cool we would break it into buttery vanilla pieces.. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Wow! This turned out VERY cinnamonny. I had a very hard time finding cinnamon oil and eventually found it at my local pharmacy. Becuase it is so powerful, they keep it behind the counter. I'm guessing that the type I used was very strong. I'll only use half the amount of oil next time. Very easy to make, however. We also rolled and cut some of our's once it was cool enough to handle and it looked very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
we made this with older family members , three batches three flavors, if you assign everyone a step it goes quickly, assign someone to clean the pan quickly to save a huge mess later. it was so fun and good everyone home took home a bag it will become a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made this candy over the holidays, and everyone loved it. My Grandma used to make candy like this when I was a kid, and it brought back fun memories for my family. I made cinnamon and wintergreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Junkie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
What a wonderful recipe! I have never made hard candy before and this was a breeze! I started out making the cinnamon and also ended up making watermelon, bubble gum, and rootbeer. It was an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I used EXTRACT instead of OIL. Oops! Turned out good anyway. A hint... I had my flavor and color in a custard cup ready and waiting. The color that you see is the color you get - helpful especially with yellow (my lemon candy is rather orange because I used a full tsp of color). Delicious stuff, brings back great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This is so easy and good, Only when mine was cooling i lifted the edges and when it was cool just enough I took peices and rolled it like a "bread stick" and then I cut it into bite size peices in to iceing sugar, I made : wintergreen, champane, rasberry,cinnamon, and bubble gum..I used different colors for every flavour..awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Wonderful candy... so easy to make. I started out with 1 batch and ended up making 7. Almost a make it itself recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
We tried the candy plain, with just the sugars, corn syrup and water, and it was delicious. I'm sure we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I had never made hard candy before. This recipe was easy and turned out perfect the first time!! I gave it away for Christmas and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great, easy delicious recipe.Brynda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States