Hard Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Wow, this recipe is a definite winner!!! You CANNOT fail with this recipe, unless of course you don't follow the directions. I bought Lorann Gourmet cinnamon oil at Culinary Corner (specialty kitchen store) and used 2 1/4 teaspoons and it is perfect, wonderful flavor and heat to it. DEFINITELY USE PARCHMENT PAPER...was a breeze to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Love this candy! Very easy to make with a candy thermometer. I've made cinnamon (using flavoured oil) and ginger (my own experiment, using fresh ginger slices simmered in water). My co-workers love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I love this recipe but i found you don't need to line the pan with foil just sprinkle powdered sugar on the pan generously
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I cut this recipe in half and used a jelly roll pan that I prepared with butter and confectioner's sugar. Came out really easy. Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is great - I'm pretty new to the candy-making process so it took me a while to get the candy to the right temp. Because of that, I think my candy might have gotten a tad brown, but the coloring and flavoring completely covered it up. So all in all, it was a success! Word to the wise - if you're using cinnamon oil, have it under the fan and nowhere near your nose! I think I'll be smelling cinnamon for the next week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is so like a recipe that my Mom and I made when I was very young. The only difference was, when you poured the hot candy out, you poured it into strips onto a buttered marble slab. We then took a butter knife and turned it a few times - till it cooled to the touch. Then picked up the strip, twisted it like you were wringing out a towel, cut it into 1 inch long pieces with sissors then coated it with the confectioner's sugar to keep it from sticking together. We put this into babyfood jars, with cloth coated lids and gave to teachers and friends every Christmas! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Awesome!! This was my first time making rock candy and it was easy!! I added an extra teaspoon of the oil (bought at the pharmacy). Hubby likes it hot, but it wasn't overly hot (he said next time to add even more...). The fumes will run you out of the house! Open a window!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Awesome time, the kids had so much fun. We cut ours with scissors when it had cooled down enough to touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Fun! Instead of making a big piece and breaking it up, I filled small candy molds (now I have peppermint flavored hotdog candies, how weird) and tried putting dollops of the candy on a cookie sheet. The dollops didn't turn out pretty! I made one batch and divided it into three bowls after it was finished cooking. I used peppermint extract, vanilla extract and maple extract. I used about twice as much of the extracts as the recipe said, but next time I will definitely use more. Also, be warned: when you stir in the food coloring and flavoring, it will splatter! Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made half-batches of this and used 1 tbsp cinnamon extract per half-batch and the flavor was good, but not overly strong. It was very easy and came out perfectly each of three times and my young nieces loved that I brought purple cinnamon candy to Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States