Hard Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very easy hard candy recipe! I made multiple batches in many different flavors over the holiday and they all turned out wonderful! The only tip I would give is to make sure to stir the flavoring in really well because I had some pieces that turned out much stronger than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is the recipe I've used for years and it turns out perfect everytime. I order my flavorings from Lorann Oils on line, they have about 80 flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
if you use vanilla as your flavoring it will taste like cotton candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The flavor is fantastic but I boiled it until it reached 310 and it still did not get hard enough to crack. I spent literally an hour to cut it up with a sharp knife and put it into a baggie with sugar to keep it from sticking when I put it in the air tight container. Like I said, the flavor was perfect and I halved the recipe. Used the 1 dram bottle of cinnamon oil I found at Hobby Lobby. I'd like to try some other flavors but will have to let boil to about 320 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very simple. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Worked perfectly! Thanks for the great recipe. The last recipe I had tried used 4 cups of sugar and it was too sweet! I made cinnamon since I wasted my orange on the last failed recipe. I cant wait to try other flavors now. This was my second time making this type of candy but this was my first success. I bought a candy thermometer and it helped keep the guessing work and mistakes away :) My kids love it as well but asked if I could not make it spicy next time LOL so for those that want a lil spice but not hot maybe go to 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. My husband and I think this is just right though. I will try the 1 1/2 tsp for the kids next time. I did not use confectioners sugar to dust with. I also would definitely follow the recipe exactly and take the advice of others who said DO NOT STIR DURING BOILING. Thanks to those that mentioned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ?momma3?
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I love this recipe. I do somethings different instead of using the confections sugar I use cooking spray. You dont taste it or at least I have never been told that they do. anyway then I use cookie cutters, and mini tarts to shape them. they turned out wonderful. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?momma3?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Worked for me the first time I tried making candy!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This came out great, I followed the recipe exact, I would just add a bit more oil flavoring next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I like this one better than the one that comes with the oils!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brazil, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States