Hard Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I haven't tried it yet, but this weekend I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I used 1tbsp lemon extract as it was what i had on hand when i found this recipe. Very mild lemon flavor but also addictive! Shopping for oils this weekend. I could swear i read where someone flavored with koolaid! Would love to know how many packets to use cuz im thinkin pink lemonade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wonderful candy! I halved the recipe so I could make more flavors with out having large batches of each. I made some using the candy oils just like the recipe says. Others I made using extracts or flavorings that you would get at any grocery store. ( Ex.. vanilla extract) When adding extracts or flavorings I just added 1 or 2 TABLESPOONS depending on how strong I wanted it. Parchment paper works great no powder sugar needed. So far I have maple made with flavoring. Pineapple made with candy oil and yellow food coloring. Strawberry-Banana made with strawberry extract and banana cream candy oil. Food coloring not needed as most oils and extracts or flavorings already have some color to them. Pineapple oil didn't so I added it in the others I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea62779

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I used a peppermint oil and it was strong so I used half the next time. BUt the fruit flavors where great with full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Easy, inexpensive and tastes like Jolly Ranchers when you use the oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
After trying another recipe for cinnamon candy and not being too thrilled with it, I decided to try this one (which uses water; the other did not) and this one is the winner, for sure! If you haven't made cinnamon candy before, this is your warning....cinnamon oil is POTENT stuff. It will burn your eyes, nose and skin so use it with caution! The only thing I changed was adding a little more cinnamon (2.5 tsp) and it's just like my husband likes it. And don't stir when it's boiling! It's so hard not to but it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This makes a lot!! I followed the instuctions exactly but did pour some into molds. Be sure to use metal or silicone, this is too hot for the cheapy plastic molds in the craft store for chocolates! I sprayed the molds with pam so there wouldn't be the white sugar all over them. Came out easily. If you want a lot of colors, I would do smaller batches. And be careful when you add the flavoring and coloring, it can spit a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was my first time making any kind of candy, and it seems that this is a great place to start! The only thing that I'm not sure about is that my first batch came out yellow in color, with no flavors added. I thought it would be clear, so I don't know if that was me or just how it turns out! My second batch I used cherry extract and it turned out well. I can't wait to try different flavors and shapes! I didn't have any helpers to grab the pan from me and clean it right away so here is what I did: Fill the pan with water and bring to a boil, occasionally stirring and scraping the bottom. Pour into sink and your pan should be pretty clean! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I was looking for a recipe for Rock Candy for my grandchildren to make with me. I was intrigued by confectioner's sugar, but finally realized your title should probably be Rock Hard Candy, rather than Hard "Rock Candy". I'll save this one for another time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was good. I'm not really a rock candy fan, but my family is. They have been requesting it for the last year now. :) I'm going to try suckers for the kid's Christmas presents as pictured. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States