Hard Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I like a little more cinnamon flavor than what I got with this, it could be because I used cinnamon extract instead of oil, I honestly didnt know there was a difference. Other than that it came out perfectly and I dont even have a thermometer! I just used the instructions another reviewer gave, when you drop a little into cold water and it instantly hardens its ready. Makes a wonderful Christmas treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamanunez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Very easy to make. I made watermelon and butter rum flvors and am giving as gifts for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Easy! I have some star shaped silicone ice cube trays that I used as molds. They came out beautifully! I added just a little bit of pepermint flavoring instead of the cinnamon and did not add food coloring. I am giving them away with a tin full of homemade tea mix as "Tea Sweeteners."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
If you modify this recipe to with citric acid for fruit flavors you will have better luck. I have been making this basic recipe for years. Letting the syrup cool to 260 degrees before adding your oils will prevent it from flashing over. Lorann oils in Mi. is one of the best sources for oils. One last thing for fun pour the mixture into hard candy molds for shapes or into two inch circles and stick in sucker sticks to make lollipops. For the real adventurist try gummi worms as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This candy is very good. I am new at making candy, but having a lot of fun testing different ones. But this is easy and good. Best investment is a good candy thermometer. An accurate fast reading one. Important not to stir when boiling. I as many other people didnt, didnt dust with powdered sugar. It would be nice to roll in fine sugar or even coarse sugar instead. If you buy your oil at a craft store as i did, you get 2 small bottles and they are each ONE DRAM. If you half this recipe, you should use a whole dram for a great flavor. Your entire house will smell of cinnamon for a while...but its great. MUST USE OIL, and not extract. Oil is concentrated and tastes better. Cant wait to try other flavors. I have peppermint and want to try strawberry. Give this one a try, you'll love it!!! Also, use parchment paper, SOOOO MUCH easier than foil!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Very good recipe. I used extracts you buy at the store and made a batch of banana, peppermint, orange, strawberry, vanilla nut, raspberry and butter rum. I don't have a candy thermometer so if you boil on medium heat until you can take a small spoon of the mixture and drop it into a bowl of cold water and it instantly hardens - that's a good temperature. Make sure you use a lot of powdered sugar on the foil so it doesn't stick. It takes about an hour or 2 to harden all the way, but you know you did it right if you can touch it and it's hard after a half hour or so. I made half recipes instead of what is above in case one of them didn't turn out, plus it made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was great! We used root beer concentrate to flavor it, and they turned out tasting just like root beer barrels from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very good candy recipe. Added a little more cinnamon. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is very yummy...Easy to make and great for Christmas gifts. I used a little more cinnamon oil and make sure you sitr it real good. Great recipe thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Very good. Just add more oil for flavor so it is richer. Very easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States