Hard Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I was looking for a recipe for Rock Candy for my grandchildren to make with me. I was intrigued by confectioner's sugar, but finally realized your title should probably be Rock Hard Candy, rather than Hard "Rock Candy". I'll save this one for another time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was good. I'm not really a rock candy fan, but my family is. They have been requesting it for the last year now. :) I'm going to try suckers for the kid's Christmas presents as pictured. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
very easy like the recipes i love to bake and cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very easy hard candy recipe! I made multiple batches in many different flavors over the holiday and they all turned out wonderful! The only tip I would give is to make sure to stir the flavoring in really well because I had some pieces that turned out much stronger than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is the recipe I've used for years and it turns out perfect everytime. I order my flavorings from Lorann Oils on line, they have about 80 flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
if you use vanilla as your flavoring it will taste like cotton candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The flavor is fantastic but I boiled it until it reached 310 and it still did not get hard enough to crack. I spent literally an hour to cut it up with a sharp knife and put it into a baggie with sugar to keep it from sticking when I put it in the air tight container. Like I said, the flavor was perfect and I halved the recipe. Used the 1 dram bottle of cinnamon oil I found at Hobby Lobby. I'd like to try some other flavors but will have to let boil to about 320 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very simple. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Worked perfectly! Thanks for the great recipe. The last recipe I had tried used 4 cups of sugar and it was too sweet! I made cinnamon since I wasted my orange on the last failed recipe. I cant wait to try other flavors now. This was my second time making this type of candy but this was my first success. I bought a candy thermometer and it helped keep the guessing work and mistakes away :) My kids love it as well but asked if I could not make it spicy next time LOL so for those that want a lil spice but not hot maybe go to 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. My husband and I think this is just right though. I will try the 1 1/2 tsp for the kids next time. I did not use confectioners sugar to dust with. I also would definitely follow the recipe exactly and take the advice of others who said DO NOT STIR DURING BOILING. Thanks to those that mentioned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ?momma3?
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I love this recipe. I do somethings different instead of using the confections sugar I use cooking spray. You dont taste it or at least I have never been told that they do. anyway then I use cookie cutters, and mini tarts to shape them. they turned out wonderful. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?momma3?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States