Hard Do Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made two loaves with this incredibly easy recipe yesterday. I used a bread machine on dough setting. I LOVE using the bread machine for kneading. Used equal parts bread flour and white whole wheat flour (just because we need to eat a little healthier). Used coconut oil instead of oil and margarine. I also added 4 teaspoons of gluten just in case I did not get the elasticity I was looking for. I think it would have been fine without. At the end of the kneading and rising in the machine, I punched down the dough and placed it in greased loaf pans for 15 mins. Then baked for 30 mins in 350F. I then spread a little coconut oil over the hot loaves. This is not the first time that I have made hard dough bread using whole wheat. I have found that I need to add a little more oil/fat because whole wheat can be on the dry side. Maybe I need to add a little more water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lemya
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I've been learning to make bread at home for fun and I've been trying various recipes. This one is pretty decent the bread came out as close to hardo bread that I eat at home in my West Indian culture. For people who are learning this is a good one to try; I added a little more butter about a teaspoon and a little bit more sugar. It made one loaf and I actually needed a little more flour than the recipe called for because the dough was sticking to the counter but I added the flour sparingly as I kneaded. The dough was nice and soft and as it baked it smelled heavenly! Bakery Bread will taste different than homemade bread because many of the ingredients are actually weighed and the yeast type but this is a good one...keep trying good bread takes practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is the best recipe i have tried so far. I love this bread. It takes me back home everytime i baked it...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is really good bread and so easy, I had to add extra water to the dough and the water in the over but otherwise it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I just love this bread and so do my family. It's easy to make using my Kenwood Chef. It's very similar to the sweet type of bread we have had in France.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was good, similar to the original but not quite the same texture. It is heavy and dense, but something that I can't put my finger on is different from the bread I'm used to from Jamaican bakeries in NYC. Try it though and see what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I found this recipe today and thought I'd try it for my Jamaican husband. It turned out wonderful. He said "it looks like Hard dough bread, smells like it and wow, tastes like it"! Will make this often, I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is good bread. As others have said, it's very close, but it's not quite the same as the one from the Caribbean shop. If someone figures out the secret to make it exactly right, I hope they share it. Do not make this recipe in the bread machine--one time I mixed the dough in the machine and baked in the oven, but it messed up the consistency of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
A sweeter bread that is dense. I don't know what this is supposed to be like to compare so just giving my opinion. Will keep this recipe, but don't know how often I'll make. Maybe as a bun I'd find more uses for it so will try that I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This bread was excellent. I am of Jamaican decent and my aunt always sends me hard do bread from the caribbean shops. While this is not an exact replica, the taste is spot on and the consistency is very very close! I will make this recipe MANY more times, it is delicious and extremely close to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States