Hard Do Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This bread is very good; I have used it many times. It tastes very similar to the Hard Do Bread sold at the Yummy Bakery in Jamaica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Excellent recipe, very much like the actual bread sold in Caribbean shops. Perfect the first time I tried. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I have lived and loved Jamaican hard-do-bread all my life. I moved from Kingston to Atlanta for college and found it hard to get anything fresh like back-a-yard . Although this recipe was not an exact replica, it was sure the best bread I have had since I have been in the United States. I would recommend that a dish with water be placed in the oven before and during the baking process. This extends the cooking time by 10-15 mins, but gives a soft yet dry finish,which is hard to find in any other bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This recipe was very simple and delicious. It's not as hard as the traditional Jamaican "Hard Dough" bread, but it equally enjoyable. I went a step further and made them into dinner rolls. Also, I like that they stay soft for days. Bread lover-Trinbago/Antigua
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I love this bread! I am always baking and trying out new bread recipes, and this is one of my favorites so far. It makes great buns also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAITIDID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I don't really have any experience with this type of bread like some of the other reviewers. I have never had it in a restaurant, or even heard of it. My older son picked it out for us to make because he liked the name, LOL. It is really just a yeast bread that is a tiny bit sweet with a very thick, almost tough crust. I guess that is how it is supposed to be...anyway, we liked it alot! I hope my pic does it justice, like I said, I have never had or seen this type of bread. We just followed the recipe and it produced a nice, simple white loaf of bread! Thanks for the post, we enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
My boyfriend's nationality is Jamaican and said that it is almost the exact same thing as hard do bread from the shops! My sister and friend also loved it and wanted me to make more. I didn't change the recipe at all, good as is. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Creek, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a really good bread recipe. My fiance is Jamaican and was missing his warm fresh Hard Dough bread so I surprised him with this recipe and he has been begging for me to make it ever since! this is a quick and easy recipe that needs no alteration at all, however i brush the top with egg white before baking for color. I also calculate the recipe for 18 servings to fit my loaf pan, which is rather large. Great with jam or cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great tasting & Easy!! This was my first attempt at making bread and this recipe couldn't have made it a better experience. Super easy to follow and turned out great!! I made it as a hostess gift, and the poor girl didn't even get any because everyone else gobbled it up so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I have this bread over and over again and trust me it tastes like the real thing. This is my most used bread recipe ever!! It's a must try and a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States