Hard Do Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I have lived and loved Jamaican hard-do-bread all my life. I moved from Kingston to Atlanta for college and found it hard to get anything fresh like back-a-yard . Although this recipe was not an exact replica, it was sure the best bread I have had since I have been in the United States. I would recommend that a dish with water be placed in the oven before and during the baking process. This extends the cooking time by 10-15 mins, but gives a soft yet dry finish,which is hard to find in any other bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This bread is good in its own right, but I did not find that it resembled hard-do bread, and I am very familiar with hard-do bread since I grew up on it. Instead of the oil and margarine, I used shortening. It also is a bread that has a slightly sweet taste, more so than normal bread, so that is something to be aware off. I liked the bread but it was not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
This bread is delicious. It is a heavier bread which is exactly what I was looking for and just the right sweetness...not too sweet. Thank you! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I don't really have any experience with this type of bread like some of the other reviewers. I have never had it in a restaurant, or even heard of it. My older son picked it out for us to make because he liked the name, LOL. It is really just a yeast bread that is a tiny bit sweet with a very thick, almost tough crust. I guess that is how it is supposed to be...anyway, we liked it alot! I hope my pic does it justice, like I said, I have never had or seen this type of bread. We just followed the recipe and it produced a nice, simple white loaf of bread! Thanks for the post, we enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This recipe was very simple and delicious. It's not as hard as the traditional Jamaican "Hard Dough" bread, but it equally enjoyable. I went a step further and made them into dinner rolls. Also, I like that they stay soft for days. Bread lover-Trinbago/Antigua
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
not my favorite, but not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This bread was excellent. I am of Jamaican decent and my aunt always sends me hard do bread from the caribbean shops. While this is not an exact replica, the taste is spot on and the consistency is very very close! I will make this recipe MANY more times, it is delicious and extremely close to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I have this bread over and over again and trust me it tastes like the real thing. This is my most used bread recipe ever!! It's a must try and a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I really liked this bread. It was very tasty and close to the taste of real hardo bread. Don't expect this bread to come out like the ones in the Jamaican bakery because it will not. It is alot lighter than real hardo bread. Still VERY good though. i almost ate the whole loaf in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is great bread. As others have said, it's very close, but it's not quite the same as the one from our Jamaican shop. The texture is almost right, but the crust and taste are a bit off. My husband's family is from Jamaica; I didn't tell DH what kind of bread I made, and he liked it and said it "reminded" him of hard do. If someone figures out the secret to make it exactly right, I hope they share it. I'm tired of having to buy it all the time. *One time I mixed the dough in my bread machine and baked in the oven, but it changed the texture of the bread considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States