Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Great hard candy base recipe. I made several flavors. Favorite is cayenne ciannamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I have made this many times and it usually comes out great. For some reason this time the candy sticks to your teeth soo bad that it makes it hard to eat... Does anyone know why its sooo sticky to eat this time. Oh and its sticky to eat not to the touch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The recipe looked great and the texture was perfect but I suggest adding a lot more extract. I added a little more than a Tbl. and I can barely taste the strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Simple and easy - just use candy thermometer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Great recipe! This was my first time making candy. I bought a $2.00 candy thermometer from Walmart. Just do not spray Pam in the bottom of the sauce pot if you have one of those expensive ceramic ones. It will burn!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I like this recipe. The only thing I'd change is using a large pot instead of a medium sized pot. I spent two hours hovering over the mixture in the medium sized pot, having to decrease the heat when the bubbles began spilling over the side, and then turning the heat up when it all subsided. Very frustrating! Once I transfered the mixture to a large pot, it was ready in 10 minutes. I used this recipe to make a candy rainbow for a cake top. I used 4 cake pans decreasing in size (12", 10", 8", 6", and then a ring from the lid of a canning jar), sat them, greased, one inside the other. When the mixture was ready, I quickly poured some into a large cup, added the color, and then poured into the space between one pan and the next. I did this for each color. I was happy with the result seeing as it was an experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I love this recipe but instead of greasing the pan i generously line the pan with powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
excellent i used orange raspberry and lemon extracts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
great recipe!! I hadn't had this since high school and it is sooo easy!! I made cinnamon which was good however I like alot more cinnamon in mine but I'll know from now on still was wonderful I just want a lil more pow in it!! next up is strawberry banana flavor!! or Lemon can't decide may have to just make both lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I've made this recipe twice now and one time I thought I would make banana flavored candy with banana extract (have used this before in other recipes and is delish!). I put in even a little more than the recipe called for and it smelled great and everything. But come time to break the candy and try it, it tasted like nothing, just sweet. Not even a hint of flavor, no smell, nothing!!! Bleh! Now another time I took another reviewer's suggestion and used one and a half packets of Kool-Aid dissolved in just a bit of water and this was much better... unfortunately I ruined the batch by putting it in a glass pan thinking I could cut it into squares before it cooled... dumb idea. Anyhow, I will try this again using another flavor of some sort, I'm not sure if it was the recipe or just that banana is a bad flavor to make candy with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States