Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
fun and easy. as a new cook i didnt know it would take so long to get to 300 degrees, so just a heads up it takes like 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathymcelhose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
i must be doing something wrong because it's been 18 hours and it is still in a stage between liquid and hard candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
really good hard candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Cline
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
GOOD but next time I would double the flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My Mom and I just used this recipe for our first ever hard candy making adventure! It was a decent size batch, so half will stay at home while the rest will follow be back to college. Our advice: be patient as the sugar boils (it took longer than we expected, and we even thought our thermometer was broken at one point!), use wooden (versus plastic) utensils, and for raspberry flavoring at least, we were glad we used an overflowing teaspoon. Thanks for the good recipes and great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Not bad, but I prefer Jolly Ranchers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leadfoot13us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe! It was easy, didn't take a lot of ingredients, and tasted good! For those whom are adding flavoring, I would definitely recommend adding more flavoring then less. I put in the amount recommended and it wasn't as sweet as I would have liked. Other than that, it's a great, fun candy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green.Eggs.N.Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made this last year at Yule and it was a huge hit with all my guests. One tip I can share is just after pouring use a pizza cutter to add horizontal and vertical lines to the candy it make it break into nice uniform pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe and it makes a ton of candy. Unfortunately, I tried it with only one little bottle of the flavoring which was 1 dram or 1/2 tablespoon. I recommend the full tablespoon or two of the 1 dram bottles. I am going to try and half the recipe, except for the flavoring, because I want to make multiple flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
soooo fun and a huge hit! I cut the recipes in half and used a package of Blue raspberry coolade in place of the coloring and extract, forgetting to cut back the amount on the coolade. That turned out to be the best mistake I could ever have made! JUST LIKE A JOLLY RANCHER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States