Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Excellennt. I scaled it back to 12 servings and doubled the flavoring. While it was still hot but touchable, I cut it into strips and twisted it around chopsticks, to make ribbon twists, and they looked great. If it is sticking in your teeth, you didn't let it heat up quite enough, try going all the way to 310 degrees using the (lowish)medium heat. This will normally take 20-30 minutes to heat after the boil is reached. If your burning it, turn your heat down to the low side of medium heat and take your time, it'll come out fine. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
its pure sugar thats just what my kids need!!!!!!!!!!!!! over all it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Made this for Christmas. It was very easy to make. I used orange and strawberry extracts. Very good candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this over the holidays and what a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I loved this recipe! I did have to change the amount of extract from 1 tbsp to 2 tbsp. My first batch of strawberry was mostly sweet, so I doubled the amount of extract in the orange and it turned out perfect. I live 7000 ft. above sea level and it still worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natoli cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Grove, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made this recipe last night for the first time using butter and rum flavoring, and it turned out great! Will definately be making more and giving some as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmdarlin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marble Hill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Followed the suggestion of using an unsweetened kool-aid packet+1 tbsp of water. We made a batch of berry blue. It was a big batch, maybe half next time. Everything turned out great. Keeps in a sealed container very well, I did not use any powdered sugar either, seemed to be just fine. No complaints! Homemade jolly ranchers, yeah....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomasenalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this and it was very easy. My kids loved helping and picking out the colors and flavors. Be sure to use a large saucepan instead of the medium or you'll have a big mess to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was probably my fault, but the candy didn't taste very good. I ended up tossing out the first batch (made with Kool-Aid powder as suggested by several reviewers), because it tasted really "off". I figured out that I probably had scorched the sugar syrup by cooking it over too high of heat. The second batch was "okay", but the flavor was still a little funny and wasn't strong enough (I used lemon extract this time, tripling the amount the recipe calls for). I think I'll keep searching for that perfect hard candy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Been using this type of candie recipe for years add colors for the holiday's and flavors that go with the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States