Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is awsome candy. I used 2 packages of Ice Blue Kool-Aid (because it was all I had) and 1 1/2 TBSP of water. It turned out perfect. I can't wait to make it agian with different flavors !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Made cinnamon candy with this recipe and unfortunately will probably end up throwing it all away because it lacks flavor. I suspect it was because I used cinnamon extract and not cinnamon oil. I even double the extract quantity with only a mild cinnamon flavor as a result. I may try the "kool-aid" flavoring next time. Otherwise, the texture and ease of this recipe is spot on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmspunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dugway, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is an easy recipe to follow and my fiance and I had fun making this. We decided to use Strawberry extract for our candy. We followed the directions, broke our candy up, and when we went to eat it, there was no flavor! It was just sweet. Flavoring stronger than extract should be used or more than what is said to be used! Otherwise, it's a decent recipe when it comes to consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Very straight forward easy recipe. I cut the recipe in half and it still worked just fine. I found the extract amount to be just perfect - I was using pure peppermint extract. Worried if it was strong enough though (after reading other reviews) I did a hard ball test into water and then tasted the cooled ball to make sure the strength was there. After cooling it tasted just the same. I also used a silicone cake pan so didn't bother greasing it. The candy solidified and I could just stretch the pan off around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I tweaked the recipe for my specific needs (mainly I had been given six lbs. of gummy bears and needed to get rid of them). Instead of flavoring, I added a couple of handfuls of gummy bears. Also, once it had cooled a bit, I pushed gummy bears into the (still liquid) candy for garnish. It's fantastic! It's very sweet but very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by packupngo
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Did the recipee and it worked perfectly! I used about 5 to 6 packets of koolaid for flavoring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by packupngo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great recipe! As long as you know how to get to the hard crack stage, you won't need a thermometer. Also - needs lots more flavoring than stated! I needed two vials per batch, the recipe only calls for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great candy and very easy! The hardest part was patience waiting for it to get to 300 degrees. I gave this four stars because the flavor was not near enough. I did strawberry the first batch and it just tasted like sugar candy. Second batch I used about 3 TBS of orange and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very good! we used blue jello for flavoring, can't wait to try other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great recipe! This was my first time with hard candy, so I followed the recipe exactly. I chose a peppermint flavor, and it could have used more, so I would recommend using a little more than the amount that is listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States