Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Love this! We have made red/cinnamon and green/wintergreen for our kids teachers each year at Christmas. So easy they have been able to help since kindergarten...they are especially good at cracking the candy into pieces. TIP: to make waiting for 300 degrees easier, keep a lid on the pan (easy if you have a digital thermometer) or wrap foil across top if using regular candy thermometer. It makes it go quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a great candy recipe,it was my first time making it,and I used lemon extract just because I love lemon.It was very easy to make,great recipe for candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This recipe is VERY simple and easy to follow. It does take patience. If you use Kool-Aid as suggested (one packet to a TBSP of water) the flavor and color are great. I wanted root beer candy and used 1 TBSP of extract as in the recipe, but it does not taste like anything. Next time I'm going to use 2 TBSP of extract for sure. **EASY way to clean your pan: Wait a few minutes for the pan to cool a little (to avoid warping the pan) and boil some water in that same pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is like the recipe I grew up making everyyear for xmas. And if you want, once u add the food coloring and the extract. Put the confectioners sugar on counter (or baking sheet) Pour the candy onto this and then take scissors and start cutting it into pieces and then roll those pieces in additional sugar... COMES out GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I had to make a cake that looked like a beer mug with a suspended can of beer pouring a stream of beer into the mug. I used this recipe for the stream of beer effect. It was so easy and worked amazingly well. Looked like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used this for candy molds and they turned out perfect! Easy to make and sugary results, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This candy never got hard for me. I obviously did something wrong since everyone else gave it a good rating. I wish it worked, but I probably wont be trying this again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manor, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
fun and easy. as a new cook i didnt know it would take so long to get to 300 degrees, so just a heads up it takes like 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathymcelhose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
i must be doing something wrong because it's been 18 hours and it is still in a stage between liquid and hard candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States