Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Miranda Attales
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Will have to try again. This is obviously something that takes practice, and there were a few problems I encountered that were not mentioned in the recipe. It takes a *long* time for the sugar to dissolve, and little bubbles form during the stirring stage that make the syrup look like it still has sugar in it. Also, and this may be an issue involving my stove or human error, but I simply could not get the mixture up to 300 degress. I nearly burnt it trying to do so. Those issues aside, this was a really fun recipe to make that looks and tastes great. I made a bit of a mess playing with the long fibers that formed on the spoon! I also used some of the leftover sugar stuck on the side of the pot to make a candy jellyfish: I took a plastic spoon and scraped some sugar to form a ball, then slowly pulled it out to form long fibers. I liked this recipe, and will try to iron out the kinks the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Attales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is great especially for Christmas. I made cinnamon and poured it out on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. When it was just beginning to set up I scored it with a pizza cutter and when hard, it broke into perfect square pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I tried this and it worked great, i may be just a kid at cooking, but this worked amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I did double the flavor extract! It very good candy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
So much fun to make and see the results, but definitely needs flavor. A tablespoon of raspberry extract did nothing, and we did wait until it stopped boiling to add it. Will try the kool-aid next time as other reviewers have suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vernon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Super easy to make - turned out perfect for the Frozen themed cakes I am making! I didn't use the confectioners' sugar because I wanted the candy to look like clear ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Easy and fun to make! I made half as much, used ginger tea for my cup of water, and topped it all with powdered ginger instead of powdered sugar. It turned out great! Next time I think I'll play with the shaping of the candy itself, but overall, a fun weeknight kitchen experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Crank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Super Easy recipe for Hard Candy! The only thing I would do different in the future would be to add more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this recipe to use as part of a Frozen birthday cake (pieces of blue ice sticking out of the top), and it came out great. However the powdered sugar was stuck to the candy, dusting it white instead of being a clear blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Worked like a charm! I made 1/3 of the recipe and it was more than I needed for the accent work on a "Frozen" themed cake. For reference, it could have easily spread out to cover a half sheet pan. Also... I made it on a whim and didn't realize I only had (3!!) jars of DARK corn syrup, but I went with it anyway, dying it blue at the end, unsure if the blue would really come through and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States