Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this recipe to use as part of a Frozen birthday cake (pieces of blue ice sticking out of the top), and it came out great. However the powdered sugar was stuck to the candy, dusting it white instead of being a clear blue. Will it still to the foil completely if I don't use powdered sugar? Any other colorless suggestions to make it not stick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Worked like a charm! I made 1/3 of the recipe and it was more than I needed for the accent work on a "Frozen" themed cake. For reference, it could have easily spread out to cover a half sheet pan. Also... I made it on a whim and didn't realize I only had (3!!) jars of DARK corn syrup, but I went with it anyway, dying it blue at the end, unsure if the blue would really come through and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I worked without thermometer, but suggestion given in directions was enough. It took me longer to get to the right temp as I worked slowly to build the temperature up, but the results are more than perfect. oh, and kids are happy too!! thank you!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
4 stars only because I wish it would have said approx time to leave boiling on stove. I don't havea candy therm, and my other therm must have been off. I didn't want to burn it, so I took it off too soon apparently. Ill try again with candy thermometer and I know to keep it on longer now. I used banana extract and 10 drops blue food coloring. Looks great for disneys Frozen "blue ice" that I'll be using for a cake!*** EDIT***- 2nd time around was a success! I bought a candy thermometer and it does need to stay on the stove a LOT longer than you would think. I did not time it, wish i would have to give readers an approx but i will be making it again this weekend and will try and remember to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana Zinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I loved it used jello came outamazing but afte rletting it sit I couldn't get it off the greased pan..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Cline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I used this to make homemade lollipops with the koolaide flavoring and it was awesome! My kids adored them and I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Perfect! I suggest being really alert when it is hardening because the first I made this I totally flunked that part! I also don't think the dusting was necessary. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Nicholas.S
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Great recipe! Used it to make a candy bowl!Tips on improving your luck with candy making. 1. If it's still a liquid, you either added too much water or you didn't reach the needed 300°F to reach a hard crack candy. 2. If your candy holds up but is kind of sticky when you eat it, you've made a soft-crack candy which forms at 275°F. Keep it on the heat longer. 3. Temperature is EVERYTHING in candy making, be patient and let it get as hot as it needs to be. Investing in a candy thermometer is useful but not entirely needed. If you don't have one handy, try out the drop-technique. Dip a spatula or spoon into your boiling sugar and drizzle it into ice cold water. When the strands come out brittle and glass-like, you've reached a hard-crack 4. Use a flavoring that's made for candy making! Not all flavorings are made to hold up at 300° in fact, most burn off completely before that leaving your candy flavorless. Lorann Oils is a great brand for hard candy. 5. DO NOT let uncooked sugar granules touch your candy before it hardens; it will cause the entire batch to quickly crystallize and become grainy. This includes the granules that splash up on the sides of the pot in the beginning! Keep those scraped down! 6. For a quick and easy cleanup, fill your pot with water and put it on the stovetop to boil. You can also throw in any candy coated utensils you used along the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
First time trying this and it came out wonderful. The only difference I made was in the flavoring. At Walmart they have these little flavor packs in the cake icing dept. as they are used to add in white icing to make different flavors and they are about 89 cents each. They come in great flavors such as bubble gum, strawberry, orange, and others. They work great as they are already colored. The bubble gum came out the prettiest shade of pink....just like bubble gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
recipe is great but for best flavor i use loran flavored oils and the taste is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States