Hard Boiled Eggs in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
They wouldn't peel! The white tore off with the shells and by the time I ripped half the eggs off with the shells the yolks were cooked on one side. I cooked them directly on the rack before and had much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi L Hillman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I like this recipe. For the brown spots, I cut the eggs in half so the brown spots were on the bottom of the egg white under the devils food filling and my family never noticed the brown spots. I was the only one that knew they were there. I told my family later and they were surprised to know they had any brown spots on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kirsten Bakken Jenkins
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Almost every egg was cracked when I took them out of the oven. Those that were not cracked did so upon immersing then in the ice bath. The eggs also had brown spots all over them. I used this method to use the eggs for coloring then for Easter baskets. This may be a good way to cook them to eat, but not if you need them pretty to decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
If you check out my photo, you can see that mine are not pretty. Hard boiled eggs are not my forte, so I'm going to give the recipe the benefit of the doubt, particularly since our oven can be a bit contrary. I planned to pickle mine, so i wasn't worried about presentation and decided not to bother with the tips from prior reviewers regarding preventing the spots. My eggs did end up with a tony spot or two per egg were contact was made with the tin. I simply sliced it off. The shells did not come off easily for me and one egg was totally ruined. I kept it in the photo so you could gauge the "doneness" of the yolks. While I wouldn't use this method when presentation was clutch, it'll be nice to use when making macaroni salad, or something similar, where presentation is moot. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Works great, peels easy. Baking gives the yolks a little different/better taste. I do this all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I have tried this recipe many times. I love the texture, as the eggs come out creamy. if you don't like the brown areas caused by the muffin tin, don't dispair! Simply put the eggs on the oven rack instead. Brown spots appear, but do not go all the way through to the egg itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Davis Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
For the folks who have a problem with the burnt spots, the solution is to keep the eggs from touching the muffin tin. There's probably other ways to do it, but I took a sheet of aluminum foil, put it over the top of the muffin tin, pushed it down a little into the cups so that the eggs don't roll out. I also only cooked them at 325, but for the full 30 minutes. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsWest
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I love how eggs cook in the oven compared to boiling! I read about the red/hard spots people are getting where the eggs touch the pan. Alton Brown's YouTube video shows him doing this but with a thoroughly damp towel laid on the oven rack then resting the eggs on the town so they never touch metal. I had no red or hard spots. I posted a picture of my peeled eggs with one egg cut open to show the perfect yellows. This is my go to method from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The eggs aren't rubbery, but yes you will have spots and I Also noticed that the overall color of the white isn't quite as white as when you boil. But, most recipes call for the eggs to be chopped, dyed, halved and stuffed so it makes no difference. A purist should probably stick to boiling but this is so easy I will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I was not impressed with this recipe. I only cooked mine for 25 minutes because I knew my oven was a litter hotter. The side the of egg that was on the bottom of the pan, all of them had a brown mark on them. I was only using them for egg salad but I would have been upset it I needed them for deviled eggs. They did not peel well, either. Going back to boiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Hard Boil Eggs in the Oven

See how to make oven-baked “hard boiled” eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States