Hard Boiled Eggs in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The eggs aren't rubbery, but yes you will have spots and I Also noticed that the overall color of the white isn't quite as white as when you boil. But, most recipes call for the eggs to be chopped, dyed, halved and stuffed so it makes no difference. A purist should probably stick to boiling but this is so easy I will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I was not impressed with this recipe. I only cooked mine for 25 minutes because I knew my oven was a litter hotter. The side the of egg that was on the bottom of the pan, all of them had a brown mark on them. I was only using them for egg salad but I would have been upset it I needed them for deviled eggs. They did not peel well, either. Going back to boiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Just tried this and had just as many explode as in boiling water. I took them out 5 min early when I heard the mini explosions in my oven. Plus now I have awful burn spots that I can't just peel off without ruining the look of the egg. The little brown spots went away after soaking in ice water for 20 min. But the burnt looking spots are not fixable that goes right through the egg. Not to mention the peeling was atrocious. Maybe for egg salad this is ok but NOT FOR DEVILED eggs. I'll stick with the tong trick and boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Hergert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Aweful. I thought these came out really gross. They had brown and yellow spots on the boiled white part of the egg inside. They were terrible to try to peel. Most chunks of the shell stuck to the egg and I had a hard time removing them. I was making them for deviled eggs and the outside has to look good, so by the time you cut off the yellow and brown spots, and then gouge out where the shell pieces stuck to the egg, they were not presentable and looked terrible. Wasted a dozen eggs, then had to boil another dozen the way I usually do, and they were successful. Stick to what works. If you want eggs that don't have that gray area between the yellow yolk and the white part, and you want them to peel easily, follow what I do. Boil the water first. Once it reaches a rolling boil, using tongs, carefully place the raw eggs in the boiling water, one by one. Boil for 12 minutes. Remove from heat and drain off water. Add cold water to pan with eggs along with ice cubes. Be careful not to crack the eggs with the ice. Once they have cooled, you can either peel them now or remove the water/ice and put them in a bowl and keep them refrigerated until you want to use them. This process eliminates the gray part and allows the eggs to be peeled easily once the eggs have cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I was disappointed - I tried 3 eggs and found at least 2 spots on each egg which is unacceptable for "deviled" eggs. I will continue with bringing to a boil, and then cover with lid (off the burner)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I just tried this method & got PERFECT EGGS! No green ring & no spots on the eggs. There was a spot on the membrane at the large end (air pocket) but not on the shell or egg itself, so peeled away with the shells. I used the toaster oven on convection @ 325* & put 6 eggs in a silicone muffin tin for 22 minutes. I'm so happy to have found this! Devilled eggs can be a part of my life again!! (I hate pouring boiling water down the drain.) Thanks, user!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Just tried this recipe and they came out great. I put a little crumpled up foil in the bottom of the tin and rested the eggs on top making sure they didn't touch the sides and no brown spots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I did the recipe exactly as written. One thing I noticed when I read reviews, before I did the recipe myself, some people were having a hard time peeling the eggs. When I first started peeling my own eggs, it was not going well, but as I got to the last ones, which were still in the cold water, they began to peel great. That being said, I don't think it's the cooking process that causes the peeling problem, but not leaving them in the cold water long enough. Hope this helps. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I used brand new eggs that I bought TODAY to make these. I know you're supposed to use 5+ day old eggs but I was impatient. And let me tell you...these eggs were a breeze to peel. Only one egg had some difficulty and some of the membrane pulled off some egg but no big deal, I'm not making them for a cocktail party! I have a brand new oven so the first batch I baked for 27 minutes at 325 and they were hardboiled but the yolk had the slightest bit of moisture in them. I prefer FIRM hard boiled eggs. So I readjusted to 29 minutes at 350 and they came out perfect! Firm and the slightest bit bouncy. Since you have to transfer them to a bowl of ice cold water, just peel them under the water and it'll be easier. This is how I'll make my eggs from now on. Mess free, no huge pot of water to haul around the kitchen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Farrier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
The eggs peeled so easy! Small brown spots on the eggs, but taste fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Hard Boil Eggs in the Oven

See how to make oven-baked “hard boiled” eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States