Hard Boiled Eggs in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Curiousity got to me, so I made 6 eggs in a disposable foil muffin tin. Since I read the reviews and my oven is not, I baked them @ 325 degrees for 25 minutes, then plunged them in ice water for 10 minutes, as instructed. Turned out perfectly! And I like my hard boiled eggs 'hard' - almost green. The eggs peel easy and the minor discoloration in no way outweighs the convenience of this method. Don't think I'll ever boil my eggs again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Works like a charm! Followed recipe as-is and am super happy to have a fuss free recipe for hard boiled eggs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Just tried this recipe and they came out great. I put a little crumpled up foil in the bottom of the tin and rested the eggs on top making sure they didn't touch the sides and no brown spots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I LOVE hard cooking eggs this way! It is so easy and hard to screw up. Clean up is a cinch. My oven runs pretty true to temp, so 30 min was perfect for one dozen. I think i should have shortened the cook time for my half batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Our holiday crowd is so big and deviled eggs are absolutely "the thing" in demand, so, quantity matters and trumps the 'lil colored spot where the eggs rest in the muffin cup. Not sooo ugly and easily trimmed off with a sharp Wüsthof, then glopped over with the tasty deviled filling. Just saying, this is a deviled egg factory's dream and the flavor/texture remain a favorite with the crowd. I always sprinkle a little paprika on top anyway, so appearance is solid :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I will never go back to boiling eggs again! I cook a dozen eggs dry (no water)in the muffin tin at 325 for 24 minutes. Then I pop them into ice water and they are a breeze to peel. The tiny brown dot is not a problem....just pull it off. Like boiling eggs in water, you cannot use really fresh eggs. They need to be just a bit older to peel easily. To those whose eggs came out rubbery, I think you need to adjust the time down from 30 minutes. That would definitely be too long in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I was skeptical but these turned out great and all the eggs were cooked the same. No more boiling for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I just tried this method & got PERFECT EGGS! No green ring & no spots on the eggs. There was a spot on the membrane at the large end (air pocket) but not on the shell or egg itself, so peeled away with the shells. I used the toaster oven on convection @ 325* & put 6 eggs in a silicone muffin tin for 22 minutes. I'm so happy to have found this! Devilled eggs can be a part of my life again!! (I hate pouring boiling water down the drain.) Thanks, user!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The eggs aren't rubbery, but yes you will have spots and I Also noticed that the overall color of the white isn't quite as white as when you boil. But, most recipes call for the eggs to be chopped, dyed, halved and stuffed so it makes no difference. A purist should probably stick to boiling but this is so easy I will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I followed the directions exactly and my eggs came out perfect. Only had a couple of spots but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Hard Boil Eggs in the Oven

See how to make oven-baked “hard boiled” eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States