Hard Boiled Eggs in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Our holiday crowd is so big and deviled eggs are absolutely "the thing" in demand, so, quantity matters and trumps the 'lil colored spot where the eggs rest in the muffin cup. Not sooo ugly and easily trimmed off with a sharp Wüsthof, then glopped over with the tasty deviled filling. Just saying, this is a deviled egg factory's dream and the flavor/texture remain a favorite with the crowd. I always sprinkle a little paprika on top anyway, so appearance is solid :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Was there supposed to be water in the cups? I tried this for my Easter eggs this weekend and they turned out rubbery :( Also you could tell tell where the egg touched the pan as there was a hard red/brown spot on the egg that stuck to the shell when peeling. They tasted fine but weren't very pretty to look at
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Curiousity got to me, so I made 6 eggs in a disposable foil muffin tin. Since I read the reviews and my oven is not, I baked them @ 325 degrees for 25 minutes, then plunged them in ice water for 10 minutes, as instructed. Turned out perfectly! And I like my hard boiled eggs 'hard' - almost green. The eggs peel easy and the minor discoloration in no way outweighs the convenience of this method. Don't think I'll ever boil my eggs again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Just tried this recipe and they came out great. I put a little crumpled up foil in the bottom of the tin and rested the eggs on top making sure they didn't touch the sides and no brown spots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
they definitely peel much easier. you have to try several times to get right cooking time for you oven. I use 325 for 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsWest
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I love how eggs cook in the oven compared to boiling! I read about the red/hard spots people are getting where the eggs touch the pan. Alton Brown's YouTube video shows him doing this but with a thoroughly damp towel laid on the oven rack then resting the eggs on the town so they never touch metal. I had no red or hard spots. I posted a picture of my peeled eggs with one egg cut open to show the perfect yellows. This is my go to method from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I LOVE hard cooking eggs this way! It is so easy and hard to screw up. Clean up is a cinch. My oven runs pretty true to temp, so 30 min was perfect for one dozen. I think i should have shortened the cook time for my half batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Works like a charm! Followed recipe as-is and am super happy to have a fuss free recipe for hard boiled eggs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I followed the directions exactly and my eggs came out perfect. Only had a couple of spots but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I did the recipe exactly as written. One thing I noticed when I read reviews, before I did the recipe myself, some people were having a hard time peeling the eggs. When I first started peeling my own eggs, it was not going well, but as I got to the last ones, which were still in the cold water, they began to peel great. That being said, I don't think it's the cooking process that causes the peeling problem, but not leaving them in the cold water long enough. Hope this helps. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Hard Boil Eggs in the Oven

See how to make oven-baked “hard boiled” eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States