Happy Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Loved this simple soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
You want to add the tortellini last since it falls apart easily if overcooked. Otherwise a very good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Super delicious! When I followed the recipe Infound that 5 cans of broth wasn't enough, so i added 2 more (16 ounce) cans of broth. I also added chicken and much more crushed red pepper and basil than the recipe called for. The added spices and chicken definitely added more flavor, i would highly recommend adding chicken. Turned out prime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This soup made me HAPPY! I added potato flakes and cayenne and it was perfect. So simple and yet so good! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbypa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This a very lovely soup. I always favor soups with pure, light flavor, especially when you have a sick hubby to take care of! The name of this recipe says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My husband and I love, loved, loved this soup. I changed it up a bit, just because of personal preferences. I used a combo of Navy and Pinto beans instead of kidney, I added a touch of potato flakes to thicken the broth a bit, and added shredded chicken breast for added protein. It was great. Thank you so much for this recipe it is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this as written and it turned out very bland, and very low on broth as well; quite unsouplike. Added a couple broth cans full of water, more basil, thyme, some Old Bay, salt, pepper, oregano, a generous pinch of rosemary, and couple cloves of garlic. Something was still lacking, the answer ended up being a chicken flavoring packet from a ramen-type soup. I would think bouillon cubes would work as well. Much better with the additions, but still disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitiara Majere
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I had to make this soup because I had tortellini in the fridge and the name is great! I cooked (and subsequently refrigerated) my tortellini separately so we could have leftovers sans dissolved tortellini. I also noticed that the broth in the recipe's one picture looks kind of creamy, so I added some instant mashed potato flakes to thicken it up (about 1 cup). I'm sure the soup is great as is, but it turned out really well this way, too and I plan to use the potato flakes again in the future because it gave it some good substance. The only thing I will change is to use a pinch of cayenne pepper instead of the pepper flakes because while we enjoyed the slight spiciness, the pepper flakes made us cough some. It's true that the flavors of the soup are not complicated, but we thought everything went very well together and it's too easy not to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was great, and so easy! I used a can of kidney beans and one of black beans as well, and some herbs de provence. Yum! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kiss the cook
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This Happy Soup made all my picky eaters happy! I was looking for a tortellini soup recipe that didn't have tomatoes or mushrooms per my picky eaters. This one was perfect. I didn't have kidney beans so I used red beans. The red pepper flakes gave it a kick. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States