Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I happened to have all the ingredients and needed a fast recipe that didn't require hours in slow cooker or lots of marinating time. This was perfect. Made as listed except i cut down the lemon to 1 and skipped the butter. Didn't miss it. was a little scared of the dijon mustard coating but when it was done you couldn't tell. The crust on the chicken was delicious and the chicken was very moist. we polishedi t all off. this is my new go to roast chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
this was great! Followed directions to the letter. Lemon, garlic and butter definitely make for a happy chicken! I find that whole roasted chicken doesnt need a lot of seasoning or spices, this was just fine the way it is. Loved it. Turns out great every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is definitely the best roast chicken recipe ever! I'm a professional Cook, not Chef, but I believe quite good at my job and I regularly roast chicken- at least twice a week, but this is by far the best I've ever done. I used thighs and simply made a paste with all the ingredients to include onion and garlic powder, no wine or any other liquid. I coated the room temperature thighs in the paste and roasted in a pan. Gorgeous aroma, melt in your mouth meat and simply fell off the bones. There was no leftover even though I made too much. I only managed to finagle one tiny piece for myself. Well done to the creator of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I was skeptical about the Dijon but wow this was very tasty! I cooked the chicken in a countertop roaster oven and it was as juicy and succulent. My husband took ALL the leftovers for his lunch! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Chicken was OK, not any better than sprinkling it with chicken seasoning. I was NOT happy with the black mess it made of my white enamel roaster. Don't know if it was the wine or the dijon. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was fantastic. You have to have time to make it because its close to 2 hours from start to finish, but this was awesome. My fairly picky kids ate it enthusiastically as did my husband-we'll make this many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe was great. I used yellow mustard, minced garlic, and a sweet red wine and the ending result was awesome. Everyone in my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
i don't know what kind of 4lb chicken he used, but the 5lb chicken i had could only hold 1-1/2 lemons. that being said, i think 1/2 of a lemon would have been sufficient. make sure you don't season the bird until you apply the dijon, and make sure you season it almost to excess. i didn't have a cast iron skillet so i used my dutch oven (i adjusted my cooking time to let the bird brown more), mine came out of the oven a nice golden brown and was succulent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misterchi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The Best and easiest chicken recipe. Excellent flavor and very juicy!! Never thought of using mustard as a coating. But Totally Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Quogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. I mixed some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and the dijon together instead of putting the mustard and seasoning on separately. Despite smelling VERY mustardy at the beginning, by the time it was done you cuold barely taste the dijon. The cooking time seemed to be a bit off though. It took me nearly two hours to cook at 3.8 lb chicken. It was moist and delicious when it was done though. Worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States