Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very good chicken. Used a cast iron skillet and a Bell and Evans organic chicken. Added very small potatoes to the skillet part way through cooking and made gravy with the skillet drippings while the chicken rested on the cutting borard. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
First, let me say this is the basic recipe that I will use for roast chicken from now on. The dijon mustard was perfect as a coating, it crisped up nicely and gave the bird a very pungent taste. The raw garlic inside the cavity though, in my opinion, was a mistake. It gave the whole bird an aroma that was not pleasant at all. It tasted great, but was just too much. Maybe using minced, or granulated garlic would calm that down. The iron skillet did well, though the back and sides of the bird's skin never crisped the way they should. Next time, I will try this on a rack in a regular roasting pan, or maybe heat the skillet on the stovetop, and brown the underside of the chicken before I add the wine. Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great! Very moist. Used an entire clove of garlic Juices made great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro59

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palisades Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
YUM!!!! This chicken was bursting with flavor and so moist! I didn't have a oven-proof skillet so I just made it a metal pan. Like others, I squeezed the lemon juice over the chicken before flavoring. I also seasoned first (and used garlic powder in addition to the salt and pepper) and then rubbed on the mustard. In addition to the lemons and garlic, I tucked a quartered onion into the chicken. It was so delicious, next time I'll use two. My family doesn't like mustard, but none of them tasted it. The little ones did find the chicken too tart, but the rest of the fam loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I happened to have all the ingredients and needed a fast recipe that didn't require hours in slow cooker or lots of marinating time. This was perfect. Made as listed except i cut down the lemon to 1 and skipped the butter. Didn't miss it. was a little scared of the dijon mustard coating but when it was done you couldn't tell. The crust on the chicken was delicious and the chicken was very moist. we polishedi t all off. this is my new go to roast chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
this was great! Followed directions to the letter. Lemon, garlic and butter definitely make for a happy chicken! I find that whole roasted chicken doesnt need a lot of seasoning or spices, this was just fine the way it is. Loved it. Turns out great every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is definitely the best roast chicken recipe ever! I'm a professional Cook, not Chef, but I believe quite good at my job and I regularly roast chicken- at least twice a week, but this is by far the best I've ever done. I used thighs and simply made a paste with all the ingredients to include onion and garlic powder, no wine or any other liquid. I coated the room temperature thighs in the paste and roasted in a pan. Gorgeous aroma, melt in your mouth meat and simply fell off the bones. There was no leftover even though I made too much. I only managed to finagle one tiny piece for myself. Well done to the creator of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I was skeptical about the Dijon but wow this was very tasty! I cooked the chicken in a countertop roaster oven and it was as juicy and succulent. My husband took ALL the leftovers for his lunch! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Chicken was OK, not any better than sprinkling it with chicken seasoning. I was NOT happy with the black mess it made of my white enamel roaster. Don't know if it was the wine or the dijon. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was fantastic. You have to have time to make it because its close to 2 hours from start to finish, but this was awesome. My fairly picky kids ate it enthusiastically as did my husband-we'll make this many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States