Happy Mountain Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Ack! I was excited to be the first to adventure and review this recipe, as it seemed so different from anything I've tried. The ingredients seemed like things I liked, but had never tried together, so I gave it a shot. I wish I had trusted my instincts and just stayed away from it. This was nothing short of NASTY! My husband refused to eat it. I basically forced some down, as I was starving by the time it was ready, but it was NOT good, by any stretch of the imagination. The ingredients just clashed to say the least. I hope to save some people some time and money by warning them about this recipe. Was this submitted as a joke? My bad for trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Ok, I have made this before but with slightly different ingredients. I cook chicken, cream of chicken soup, evaporated milk, and chicken broth together. Then, that goes over cooked rice along with things like: celery, chow mein noodles, green onions. It's really yummy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is my very picky family's favorite meal. Everyone can put what they want on their plate. I also put out chopped black olives, chopped green pepper,chopped waterchestnuts and maybe some chopped almonds for people to put on their 'mountain'. I also like putting a little soy sauce on my plate. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Made this for the kids and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I have made this recipe (also known as Snow on the Mountain) many times for group gatherings and it has always been a hit. Here are some things I do or have done differently. Use leftover turkey or a whole chicken cut up, boiled and meat removed. Use the broth to make a homemade gravy rather than use canned soup. And for other toppings we use diced celery, slivered almonds, raisins, frozen peas and peanuts. Having a variety of toppings available is good for group gatherings, but the ones listed in the recipe are a must for anytime. We love it and make this at least 2-3 times a year. YUM! Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamH
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I couldn't find green onions in the local grocery, so I picked up a regular white onion instead. Don't do it! It was overpowering the other ingredients. But, even still, the meal was delicious! Who knew what adding chow mein noodles to a meal could do! :) I served it with peas, and the peas ending up becoming part of the mountain as well. It's all a good combo. Next time, I may throw in mushrooms too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. These are my layers: rice, yellow cheese, gravy with chicken chunks, olives, tomatoes, green onions, pineapple chunks, mushrooms, green peppers, and chow mein noodles! Heavenly!! ( I call mine Hawaiian Haystacks.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Fast and Easy.. but tasteless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I love this recipe. I have made it for years, but mine is just slightly different - simmer chicken with chicken broth, when chicken is cooked, shred it and add back into pan with broth. Add some cream of chicken soup and some cream or milk to make a gravy. Put out your ingredients in a long line and have your guests make their own plates. Suggest that they add all the ingredients because the flavors are great together. I use rice, chicken & gravy, cheddar cheese, diced celery, diced green onions, pineapple tidbits, shredded coconut, slivered almonds and chow mein noodles. YUM! Everyone raves about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Here is a tip to make this a very easy dish: place the chicken breasts in a slow cooker on high for 3-4 hours. No liquid is needed--they'll be fine. Once they are very tender, mash them up right in the slow cooker with a potato masher. Easiest way in the world to shred chicken and it takes about 10 seconds to do! At this point you can stir in your soup. I usually find that no extra water is necessary. When serving them, we usually have diced celery and slivered almonds for toppings as well as those toppings mentioned in the recipe. The coconut and pineapple may sound bizarre to you, but don't omit them--you'll be pleasantly surprised by the great flavor this combination creates! This is my whole family's favorite recipe EVER and it is EASY and DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy
Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States