Happy Hippy Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I had someone making a corn casserole -- so a corn bread stuffing was out. I have someone who hates sausage -- so a sausage stuffing was out. Oh yeah and I've got two big macho guys who would hate something called Happy Hippy Stuffing. And . . . it got compliments out the wazoo. It was perfect blend of flavors and worked great. I thought for sure there was far too much bread but it was perfect and feeds oodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
i really wanted to love this but i found it kind of dry and bland. maybe i just don't like grape nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Like the other reviewers on here, I found this recipe just superb, as did most of the 16 other people I cooked it for on Thanksgiving - so many compliments. And that's coming from a family of carnivores. It simply has the perfect balance of flavors without being mushy or reliant on any one flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This stuffing was delicious, and a big hit at Thanksgiving. I had a "traditional" white bread stuffing and this stuffing, and most people preferred this. It was hearty, and the blend of flavors were just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I have made this recipe twice now, once at Christmas and once at Thanksgiving. Both times it was a major hit! Personally, stuffing is never my favourite at a big meal because I always think of it as "filler." Not this time! This was sooo good!! There is nothing I would change about this recipe...just make sure that you add the broth gradually so that you can adjust the moisture to your liking. I always double the recipe and find it needs more than four cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Delicious recipes and got lots of positive remarks. My only qualm is that the stuffing ended up a bit dry on the top crust area. Next time, I'll probably cut the bread bits into smaller cubes and add more liquid to the mixture. Overall it's great and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
As a lifelong vegetarian I am always looking for interesting recipes for the holidays. I made this for Thanksgiving this year to mixed reviews. I found it rather bland--I think due to the bread I used. The bread will make or break this recipe! I will know next time! I also will add some garlic and maybe more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe got a great review from my meat-eating family. I made half a recipe using Milton's Multigrain Bread and dried rather than fresh parsley. I substituted the pumpkin seeds with pepitos (couldn't find the pumpkin seeds), using roasted and salted seeds rather than raw--thus eliminating the need to toast them. This makes a very yummy side dish for anyone, vegetarian or not. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
A meal in itself, this stuff is great! My husband has never been so excited to see me bring grape nuts home from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Excellent! Though I used a bread too thick. Will make sure to use coarse bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States