Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I was somewhat disappointed with this recipe after seeing all of the rave reviews. I decorate cakes for a side job and I had a customer who wanted a really good homemade yellow cake for her husband's birthday. I don't get a request for a yellow cake very often so I went looking for a recipe and found this one. I made one for me to try at the same time I made the one to decorate. I did not overbake the cake, followed the directions as is and it came out dry, heavy and very crumbly. The flavor was fair but the texture was awful. I ended up brushing the customer's cake with a vanilla simple syrup and coating it with a glaze before icing it in hopes it would taste better and hold up better. I was hoping for a fluffy, tasty cake but this was not it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pammy
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this cake for my son's 3rd birthday. As others have said, it is very dense and heavy. It was also very moist and tasted great. Everyone at the party loved it. I did have to bake it for almost twice as long as recommended in the recipe but it was worth the wait. I will definitely make it again for a friend's birthday in a few weeks time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I ran late and needed to bake a cake just as the guests were arriving, so had to make shortcuts. I softened the butter in the microwave and mixed the eggs in without separating them and the cake still turned out great! I did have to lower the oven temperature to 300 after 15 mins though, since I saw that the cake was browning too much on top and was still undone inside (convection air oven). It also make a huge cake and would have overflowed had I not used as big a cake pan as I did. I sifted cocoa powder over it (quick and less fattening than frosting and anyway the cake was still warm and would've melted any frosting!) and it looked elegant. The guests loved it! Very buttery smooth and just as delicious the next day after refridgeration. Great recipe since it uses basic ingredients on hand that one could just throw in one go. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This cake came out beautifully, but I only gave it 4 stars because I had to make a lot of adjustments. First of all, make sure to soften the butter before you mix it. This makes it easier to work with and helps melt the sugar. Secondly, I would decrease the amount of sugar in this recipe by about half a cup because it turned out very sweet. Thirdly, I had to add an extra half cup of milk to the recipe to smooth out the batter. And lastly, it was necessary for me to increase the cooking time by an extra 20 minutes before it was done. However, with all of those adjustments, the cake turned out very moist, fluffy and sweet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This is the best birthday cake in the world and I have made a lot of cakes. Use real butter if you can! It rises beautifully and is of perfect texture. I used a cream chees icing. One 8 oz. block cream cheese, 1/2 cup marg. 1tsp. vanilla and about 4 cups icing sugar. YUMMY!! Thanks for the recipe. Susan from Nova Scotia, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This year I wanted to make my grand daughters birthday cake and I used this recipe. I must say it was very delicious. I added my own frosting but overall I had enough cake to feed everyone at the party and the best part of it was that they all thought I brought it from a bakery. They ate all of the cake the same night so two days later I made another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
A good basic recipe. It tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
love the cake! instead of 3 9 inch pans i used two and double deckered the cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I don't know why some others say it is packy. If you follow the recipe to the letter, it comes out great. Be sure you are sifting your flour/baking powder mixture, and fluffing your egg whites. Thanks for the keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
great cake. I used it to make my son's birthday train cake, inside a Wilton train pan. When I cut off the extra from the top and tried it, it tasted great! I did alter it a bit though, I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I used buttermilk instead of milk. great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viña Del Mar, Valparaíso, Chile
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States