Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This cake was very good. It had almost a cornbread texture but tasted great. I would say however to not use this recipe for cupcakes because there is so much butter in the batter that it makes the cupcake paper VERY greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this at the last minute tonight as a surprise for my husband's birthday and it turned out great!!! I actually cut the recipe in half to make one medium sized cake and I still had to bake it for a good 35 minutes, but in the end it was perfect, light but moist... I topped it with a simple buttercream icing and end result=hubby ate 3 pieces :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paola g

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shewolf20
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Followed exactly and it turned out just like I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I like another reveiw is wondering why this recipe got such a great reveiw. this cake is very dense and does not make a good birthday cake. Would not make agin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
great recipe and very easy to follow, but i wish it was a little more fluffier. it was my first time making it but i'm going to keep trying to see why it wasn't as fluffy as i wanted :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Excellent flavor, but extremely dense. Didn't work well for a birthday cake, but I would make it again for dessert, maybe with a berry compote?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was a good tasting cake, but much too sweet and heavy for my tastes. I was really looking for a light and fluffy cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great and so easy to make...I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This cake came out beautifully, but I only gave it 4 stars because I had to make a lot of adjustments. First of all, make sure to soften the butter before you mix it. This makes it easier to work with and helps melt the sugar. Secondly, I would decrease the amount of sugar in this recipe by about half a cup because it turned out very sweet. Thirdly, I had to add an extra half cup of milk to the recipe to smooth out the batter. And lastly, it was necessary for me to increase the cooking time by an extra 20 minutes before it was done. However, with all of those adjustments, the cake turned out very moist, fluffy and sweet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
very easy to follow recipe. i liked the cake, but i found the texture to be somewhat strange. all in all it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States