Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Just like some of the other reviewers I found this cake to be very dense and the recipe a bit difficult to work with. I followed the recipe to the letter but found the batter quite thick before folding in the whites so I added a lot (1/2 C +) more milk as others suggested. I'm giving it 3 stars because the taste was good enough for me to give the recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Followed to a T and ended up with a heavy dry yellow cake. Perhaps it is the milk choice as I used a 2% milk? If there is a next time I will try whole fat milk. However, I took about 1/3rd of this cake and added two unsweetened chocolate baking squares and 1/2 cup sugar in order to make it a marble cake and also two all chocolate muffins... the chocolate portion of the cake was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is now our official birthday cake recipe! So yummy delish! It is so buttery and is not too sweet just perfect. It is so light and fluffy I am not sure why others said it was heavy. Someone said it was dry and crumbly, all I can think of is that they whipped the eggwhites too much. This recipe makes great cupcakes too! When I made it the cake rose up but as it was cooling fell inward a little bit, but that did not effect the taste. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used this recipe each week while attending a cake decorating class and it turned out great each time. The secret is folding in those hard egg white before baking- I noticed a big change when I missed that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This came out delicious! Everyone commented that it tasted like a delicious wedding cake! Definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeJulia

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made two batches for my son's 2nd birthday. One was in a 9x13 pan and the other in a Wilton 3-D Cruiser cake pan, both came out great, though the one in the Wilton pan took about 30 minutes longer in the oven. The only change I made was to add about a half teaspoon of almond extract to each cake. Delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy
Living In: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie&Tara
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
It was wonderful!!!! It did take 2X as long as it says to cook, its also heavy but very moist and flavorful. I used a buttercream fondant instead of frosting. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie&Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
made this for my daughters 1st bday however I did add almond.yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Nice recipe. I added more almond extract and the cake was moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Tried this recipe because our town bakery stopped making cakes on weekends, my daughter turned one on a Sunday and I was not going to make a box cake for her 1st birthday. I must say I was scared to death, my family can be harsh and everyone has as opinion. Started the cake on the morning of the party, set it out to cool. My sister recommended injecting it with rasberry preserves, we made a basic butter cream icing, layered it with icing and thin layer of rasberry preserves. 3 layers in all. sprinkled white chocolate over the top. We put pink decorative icing on the top and a beautiful pink candle. I was so nervous when we sang Happy Birthday and we cut the cake. Everyone started to compliment me, and I was dubbed the official birthday cake maker from now on. My husband said that the cake made our little one's special day even better. Thanks for posting the recipe that made my husband proud of me and my efforts. I feel bad that I had never attempted making a cake for our 16yr old all these years. If you need a great tasting cake try this recipe. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States