Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This came out delicious! Everyone commented that it tasted like a delicious wedding cake! Definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeJulia

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made two batches for my son's 2nd birthday. One was in a 9x13 pan and the other in a Wilton 3-D Cruiser cake pan, both came out great, though the one in the Wilton pan took about 30 minutes longer in the oven. The only change I made was to add about a half teaspoon of almond extract to each cake. Delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy
Living In: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie&Tara
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
It was wonderful!!!! It did take 2X as long as it says to cook, its also heavy but very moist and flavorful. I used a buttercream fondant instead of frosting. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie&Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
made this for my daughters 1st bday however I did add almond.yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Nice recipe. I added more almond extract and the cake was moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Tried this recipe because our town bakery stopped making cakes on weekends, my daughter turned one on a Sunday and I was not going to make a box cake for her 1st birthday. I must say I was scared to death, my family can be harsh and everyone has as opinion. Started the cake on the morning of the party, set it out to cool. My sister recommended injecting it with rasberry preserves, we made a basic butter cream icing, layered it with icing and thin layer of rasberry preserves. 3 layers in all. sprinkled white chocolate over the top. We put pink decorative icing on the top and a beautiful pink candle. I was so nervous when we sang Happy Birthday and we cut the cake. Everyone started to compliment me, and I was dubbed the official birthday cake maker from now on. My husband said that the cake made our little one's special day even better. Thanks for posting the recipe that made my husband proud of me and my efforts. I feel bad that I had never attempted making a cake for our 16yr old all these years. If you need a great tasting cake try this recipe. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whit1173
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I do not consider myself an expert baker, but my daughter warmed my heart when she asked me to bake her 5th Birthday cake myself. I was looking for an easy cake recipe. This cake was easy to make & had a great taste-I received lots of compliments on it! I used the recipe for the wedding cake icing from this website & just added water until I got a spreading consistency that I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whit1173

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Easy and very good for decorating. Quite a heavy cake, but very managable when layering. Sift flour before measuring and again while mixing in. I have used this recipe a number of times (usually for a coloured birthday cake) and haven't been disappointed yet. Use in combination with "Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing" for a sweeeeeeeet treat ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very moist and light worked well with buttercream frosting. Will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States