Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this cake for my husband, I just wanted something to put on the table for Valentine's. I read the reviews but made the recepie as is. It was DELICIOUS. My hubby LOVED IT. I don't think it came out dense because I made it exactly like the recepie. I did however did only half of ingredients since it was only for two but seriously it was pretty big, it could have been for 10 people having big pieces! So, plan for that, it can overflow like other reviewers said. It rose beautifully, very fluffy. Try it with italian meringue, yuuummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cachito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Pedro Sula, Cortés, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Turned out good...very heavy but good, sweet and pretty. Similar taste to pound cake. Worked for making a princess cake for my 4 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is the BEST cake. I've been making it for years!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willemstad, Curaçao, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was delicious. I made it using vegan substitutions and it still turned out fantastic. It is dense, and it did take about twice the baking time as recommended (about 50 min to an hour) but it was moist and exactly what I wanted. I used butterscotch flavoring in the cake for a little extra something and almond flavoring in my frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Cake turned out perfect, dense and delicious! Followed the recipe exactly, however I did have to bake a 9x13 pan for almost 50 minutes before it was done, I think the smaller pans would cook faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious and dense. Solid cake that makes for the yummiest cake I've EVER had. Used ALMOND flavor instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
After reading the reviews I decided to give this cake a try for my daughters 18th birthday. I did cut down on the sugar by 1/2 a cup and increased the milk by 1/3 cup approx. I too had to increase the cooking time by 20-25 minutes. The end result was a light yet firm, fluffy textured evenly colored sponge. I will def. keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made it for my friend's birthday. It came out very watery still. I wonder what i did wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This cake has been a total disappointment. This is my first time making it and it totally crumbled. I don't even have a cake. I made it for my daughter's B-Day. The taste is really good, but no way can it be made into a cake. I will need to skip on this cake since I have no idea how to even fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
The cake was good. I have not made a cake in years and I had fun making this one. I did what other people did and used almond and buttermilk. I also used an Elmo pan so I had to double the cooking time also. The cake is a thicker cake and is sweet as others say. I also loved eating the edges I cut off. They were very good warm. It was very easy to decorate. It seems the cake had a good "crust" all over elmos face. I iced it with pretubed icing. It looked awesome. I refrigerated it for the next day....we pretty much ate it straight from the fridge so I think the cake was too cold n the icing was harder than I'd like. For the next birthday party I would do a lighter batter..this one was good tho just not good for birthdays. I think doing something with strawberries would be perfect for this recipe. Will do again and would suggest to others but make a practice one so I understand the taste. Also adding a filling would be so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States