Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is an AMAZING cake; however, i feel that it takes a lot of effort and i can never quite get it to turn out of the pan right (but maybe that's my problem). I have made this cake oh... 10 times and every single time i make it people just rave about it. I always have to cook it for 10 -15 minutes longer but i live at 8500 ft and it could just be the altitude. Long story short, kind of a hassle but definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent flavor, nice crumb (a touch more dense, but I like that), and so very moist. I always add more vanilla. I put "Whipped Cream Filling"(see recipe on this site) between layers, and decorated with a vanilla butter cream on top. Stayed just as moist and tasty for the next 2 days after the party. If you want it less dense, don't stir it as much. Just fold in stiff egg whites until JUST MIXED. Should turn out lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have made this cake several times. The first couple it came out differently, one being flat and heavy. I found it's VERY important to whisk the eggs with beater for a long time until very stiff. It's all about the eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Came out great for my Mom's 60th birthday! I baked in 2 8 inch springform pans, layered center with raspberry preserves, and frosted with buttercream from this site (see my custom recipe). I doubled the vanilla, increased milk slightly (about 1/4 c.), and reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Next time I may reduce baking powder by a third. Cake was moist enough that there was no need to brush layers with simple syrup, but I might do this to keep the cake moist if I were making it a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I baked it a little too long, but it was still fantastic! This was the recipe I have been searching for, I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made this cake in a 9x13. I made it exactly the way it read except a added just a small amount (didn't measure) of milk at the end because the batter was REALLY thick. The only thing that I noticed was that after 30 minutes at 350 the knife came out covered in raw batter. The cake was quite dark at the point so I turned the oven down to 300 and cooked another 10 minutes. Came out of the pan pretty well. I haven't had a piece yet but the crumbs were tasty and my 2 year old son pinched a chunk out of itand wanted more more more! This cake does seem very dense but I don't know why that would be a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I just made this cake as a practice for my little girls Ariel birthday cake next week and you know its a good sign when your kids can't keep from licking the spatula and bowl and say "this is good icing". Its a sweet cake that is wonderful without icing. It turned out so good I'm trying to decide if I should go ahead and freeze it for the real cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This cake is fantastic!! Made as written...real butter and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This recipe was ok. It was very heavy which I don't prefer but do not find awful. My husband did not enjoy it at all and has asked me to never use this recipe again. I did read a comment where someone just added an extra cup of milk and I plan on trying this again with the extra milk to see if that makes it better for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
takes pretty good, really dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Dektor Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States