Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I'm baking these cupcakes for my daughter’s birthday party this year. We did a test run and she loved them so much that she wants me to make extras so her friends to take one home with them. Very moist and yummy! I used the Betty Crocker homestyle frosting and turned out perfect. I checked online and found that Box and Wrap was a great place to get cupcake boxes. I have stickers, markers, and crayons so the kids decorate their own cupcake box. At least the extra baking will keep me from buying party favors to give the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I made this cake a couple years ago and did not like it and vowed to never make it again. Then, Yesterday, I went looking for a highly rated birthday cake recipe and came across this one again. Not realizing this was the same one we intensely disliked previously, I made it again. Very Very dense. Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It was just ok, more like angle food cake. I used bakers sugar and cake flour in hopes of a light and fluffy cake. I did not want a dense cake like others spoke of- No luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
The best recipe out there!!! I baked this as a try out, and all my friends are asking me for the recipe already!!! Awesome moisture, delicious flavor...thanks a lot for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Ugh, was more like a sweet bread than a cake. Not doing this one for a birthday cake again. Glad I did a test run before the big day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
this cake was absolutely delicious! my friend made it for me for my birthday - honestly the best cake i have ever eaten. it was so moist and delicious. definitely recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
It was a very delicious cake. My family loved it!Though I changed the serving size to 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I love this cake! I made it for my mother's birthday and everybody loved it. I made it because I had all the ingredients at home. It taste buttery and moist. I put chocolate filling in the middle and decorated it with a cream cheese frosting. I would definitely do it again. I think next time I will do cupcakes with it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupeboop

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Literally tasted like a store-bought birthday cake, but fluffier and lighter. Really good recipe for a basic easy to make birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I was embarrassed to serve this at my daughter's first birthday party. I will not be making this cake again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States