Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I found this recipe very unsatisfactory and i was surprised it was given a good review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anton Ego

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is my first homemade birthday cake. I cut the recipe in half to make a smaller cake, and used 1/2c sugar and 1/2c splenda then followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Put 'Quick Fudge Icing' on top, IT TURNED OUT WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Krueger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fulton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
very good! The inside was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Amazing cake!! Made three round 8" cakes, and added red food coloring to the middle layer to make it pink, as well as swirled in a bit of dry cocoa, then completely copied another reviewer by using raspberry preserves (mixed with crushed, frozen raspberries) between each of the layers, icing it with the pro ganache from this site, and then using raspberries on top and to decorate the base. It turned out VERY good! The cake wasn't too heavy/sweet, but was balanced nicely with the fruit, and the whole thing was delicious. And, although people say this all the time on this site (haha), my sister actually said, "This could be store-bought," then corrected herself and said it was better than a store-bought cake! It was for my mom's birthday and she loved it =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pammy
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this cake for my son's 3rd birthday. As others have said, it is very dense and heavy. It was also very moist and tasted great. Everyone at the party loved it. I did have to bake it for almost twice as long as recommended in the recipe but it was worth the wait. I will definitely make it again for a friend's birthday in a few weeks time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Dense but very flavorful and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Tastes a little buttery but it's light and exactly what I was looking for to make a birthday cake. I used some spreadable fruit (raspberry) between the layers and poured the "Pro-Ganache" over it (recipe from this site - that is SOOO good!) and decorated with fresh raspberries. Simple and awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
love the cake! instead of 3 9 inch pans i used two and double deckered the cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
True it was heavy and pretty dry, but it was also tasty and served very well the purpose I needed it for. I wouldn't use this recipe for just any occasion, but in need of a cake sturdy enough to support heavy fillings and decorations: jelly layers, buttercream icing, marzipan cover and decorations, etc... it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is a really good cake mix. I use it for my cake business. I am so glad that I found it. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hope, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States