Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Amazing cake!! Made three round 8" cakes, and added red food coloring to the middle layer to make it pink, as well as swirled in a bit of dry cocoa, then completely copied another reviewer by using raspberry preserves (mixed with crushed, frozen raspberries) between each of the layers, icing it with the pro ganache from this site, and then using raspberries on top and to decorate the base. It turned out VERY good! The cake wasn't too heavy/sweet, but was balanced nicely with the fruit, and the whole thing was delicious. And, although people say this all the time on this site (haha), my sister actually said, "This could be store-bought," then corrected herself and said it was better than a store-bought cake! It was for my mom's birthday and she loved it =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pammy
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this cake for my son's 3rd birthday. As others have said, it is very dense and heavy. It was also very moist and tasted great. Everyone at the party loved it. I did have to bake it for almost twice as long as recommended in the recipe but it was worth the wait. I will definitely make it again for a friend's birthday in a few weeks time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Dense but very flavorful and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Tastes a little buttery but it's light and exactly what I was looking for to make a birthday cake. I used some spreadable fruit (raspberry) between the layers and poured the "Pro-Ganache" over it (recipe from this site - that is SOOO good!) and decorated with fresh raspberries. Simple and awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
love the cake! instead of 3 9 inch pans i used two and double deckered the cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
True it was heavy and pretty dry, but it was also tasty and served very well the purpose I needed it for. I wouldn't use this recipe for just any occasion, but in need of a cake sturdy enough to support heavy fillings and decorations: jelly layers, buttercream icing, marzipan cover and decorations, etc... it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is a really good cake mix. I use it for my cake business. I am so glad that I found it. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hope, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
THIS CAKE IS SOOO YUMMMY I LOVVVEEE IT TRUST ME YOU WANT TO MAKE THIS CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Good for people who like very dense cake! Mine came out delicious, but seemed to weigh 20 pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This cake was alright! It dries out very quickly though even though I was keeping it sealed in a cake pan. It was also very crumbly and I followed the directions exactly. How can I keep it moist the next time I make it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elba, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States