Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Great, easy cake!! super yummy with only basic ingredients. a keeper, everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EDDIEGIRL
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This cake is really good. I use the "Wedding Cake Frosting" recipe for this cake. Sometimes I use almond extract instead of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is not a good cake. It is very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great Cake! I made this cake for the first time for my boyfriend's birthday and he (and his family) loved it! His mother even asked how long I have been baking and asked if I would make one for her birthday! I didn't exactly follow the recipe to a tee but it still came out incredible. Great texture, not too sweet and just moist enough. I did a buttercream icing which complimented the cake very well. Will definitely use this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was the recipe I used for the first birthday cake I baked and it is a hit!!! And it's still my only and best recipe for cakes!!! My mom was surprised that it contained very little ingredients and just 6 easy steps. Now she uses it for cakes too. Practice makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My 16 year old daughter Hannah followed the directions exactly and it turned out a lovely color in the sheet pan & tasted even better. Very old fashioned and satisfying. We didn't even frost it! Thanks to Carol & your mom as well for an old fashioned cake that has body, richness, texture, and superb vanilla essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This cake was very good. It had almost a cornbread texture but tasted great. I would say however to not use this recipe for cupcakes because there is so much butter in the batter that it makes the cupcake paper VERY greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this at the last minute tonight as a surprise for my husband's birthday and it turned out great!!! I actually cut the recipe in half to make one medium sized cake and I still had to bake it for a good 35 minutes, but in the end it was perfect, light but moist... I topped it with a simple buttercream icing and end result=hubby ate 3 pieces :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paola g

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shewolf20
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Followed exactly and it turned out just like I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I like another reveiw is wondering why this recipe got such a great reveiw. this cake is very dense and does not make a good birthday cake. Would not make agin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States