Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very moist and light worked well with buttercream frosting. Will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have made this cake twice now and it's very good and moist. No adjustments needed. It tastes great with buttercream icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very good cake! Very moist, baked it for my daughter's 2nd birthday - the whole cake was gone... I made a 10" round and a smaller cake, had to cook it for a lot longer than recipe said (which others said too.) delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
If you follow the directions exactly you will end up with a mess, so I would only rate this cake with 2 stars. It needs a lot of adjustments to make it work and I don't want to do that. I did follow the recipe to the letter the first time I made it and was not happy with the end result. The texture is off, and it smells like an omelet coming out of the oven. Plus it needs extra cooking time. Next time I will try something else, it was not worth it to me to monkey with anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Great, easy cake!! super yummy with only basic ingredients. a keeper, everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This cake is really good. I use the "Wedding Cake Frosting" recipe for this cake. Sometimes I use almond extract instead of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is not a good cake. It is very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great Cake! I made this cake for the first time for my boyfriend's birthday and he (and his family) loved it! His mother even asked how long I have been baking and asked if I would make one for her birthday! I didn't exactly follow the recipe to a tee but it still came out incredible. Great texture, not too sweet and just moist enough. I did a buttercream icing which complimented the cake very well. Will definitely use this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was the recipe I used for the first birthday cake I baked and it is a hit!!! And it's still my only and best recipe for cakes!!! My mom was surprised that it contained very little ingredients and just 6 easy steps. Now she uses it for cakes too. Practice makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My 16 year old daughter Hannah followed the directions exactly and it turned out a lovely color in the sheet pan & tasted even better. Very old fashioned and satisfying. We didn't even frost it! Thanks to Carol & your mom as well for an old fashioned cake that has body, richness, texture, and superb vanilla essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States