Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whit1173
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I do not consider myself an expert baker, but my daughter warmed my heart when she asked me to bake her 5th Birthday cake myself. I was looking for an easy cake recipe. This cake was easy to make & had a great taste-I received lots of compliments on it! I used the recipe for the wedding cake icing from this website & just added water until I got a spreading consistency that I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whit1173

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Easy and very good for decorating. Quite a heavy cake, but very managable when layering. Sift flour before measuring and again while mixing in. I have used this recipe a number of times (usually for a coloured birthday cake) and haven't been disappointed yet. Use in combination with "Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing" for a sweeeeeeeet treat ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very moist and light worked well with buttercream frosting. Will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have made this cake twice now and it's very good and moist. No adjustments needed. It tastes great with buttercream icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very good cake! Very moist, baked it for my daughter's 2nd birthday - the whole cake was gone... I made a 10" round and a smaller cake, had to cook it for a lot longer than recipe said (which others said too.) delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
If you follow the directions exactly you will end up with a mess, so I would only rate this cake with 2 stars. It needs a lot of adjustments to make it work and I don't want to do that. I did follow the recipe to the letter the first time I made it and was not happy with the end result. The texture is off, and it smells like an omelet coming out of the oven. Plus it needs extra cooking time. Next time I will try something else, it was not worth it to me to monkey with anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Great, easy cake!! super yummy with only basic ingredients. a keeper, everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This cake is really good. I use the "Wedding Cake Frosting" recipe for this cake. Sometimes I use almond extract instead of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is not a good cake. It is very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States