Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made it for my friend's birthday. It came out very watery still. I wonder what i did wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This cake has been a total disappointment. This is my first time making it and it totally crumbled. I don't even have a cake. I made it for my daughter's B-Day. The taste is really good, but no way can it be made into a cake. I will need to skip on this cake since I have no idea how to even fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
The cake was good. I have not made a cake in years and I had fun making this one. I did what other people did and used almond and buttermilk. I also used an Elmo pan so I had to double the cooking time also. The cake is a thicker cake and is sweet as others say. I also loved eating the edges I cut off. They were very good warm. It was very easy to decorate. It seems the cake had a good "crust" all over elmos face. I iced it with pretubed icing. It looked awesome. I refrigerated it for the next day....we pretty much ate it straight from the fridge so I think the cake was too cold n the icing was harder than I'd like. For the next birthday party I would do a lighter batter..this one was good tho just not good for birthdays. I think doing something with strawberries would be perfect for this recipe. Will do again and would suggest to others but make a practice one so I understand the taste. Also adding a filling would be so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Hey guys, this is a good recipe....I have a business and a client was looking for a white/yellow cake base with strawberry filling and a buttercream frosting. THIS IS IT!!! This cake reminds me a lot of another coconut cake I make that I get lots of rave reviews for. This will be the cake I use for children's parties and adults as well!! Thank you Carol for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexMex Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe was awesomeeeeeeeee!!! I used it for my son´s birthday cake in a Wilton Elmo pan and turned out perfect. I did cook it longer though. No one believed me that it was a homemade cake. I made cup cakes and the batter was great for that too. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Edible, but BARELY. Brick-like comes to mind. Very heavy and dense. It'd be more like a bread than a cake, if breads were even this heavy. Cooking time per recipe instructions is waaaaay off. At 35 minutes, the batter was still soupy. I had to double the time. Lesson learned the hard way with this recipe... always test a recipe before serving at a function. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Just like some of the other reviewers I found this cake to be very dense and the recipe a bit difficult to work with. I followed the recipe to the letter but found the batter quite thick before folding in the whites so I added a lot (1/2 C +) more milk as others suggested. I'm giving it 3 stars because the taste was good enough for me to give the recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Followed to a T and ended up with a heavy dry yellow cake. Perhaps it is the milk choice as I used a 2% milk? If there is a next time I will try whole fat milk. However, I took about 1/3rd of this cake and added two unsweetened chocolate baking squares and 1/2 cup sugar in order to make it a marble cake and also two all chocolate muffins... the chocolate portion of the cake was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is now our official birthday cake recipe! So yummy delish! It is so buttery and is not too sweet just perfect. It is so light and fluffy I am not sure why others said it was heavy. Someone said it was dry and crumbly, all I can think of is that they whipped the eggwhites too much. This recipe makes great cupcakes too! When I made it the cake rose up but as it was cooling fell inward a little bit, but that did not effect the taste. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used this recipe each week while attending a cake decorating class and it turned out great each time. The secret is folding in those hard egg white before baking- I noticed a big change when I missed that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States