Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
The cake was good. I have not made a cake in years and I had fun making this one. I did what other people did and used almond and buttermilk. I also used an Elmo pan so I had to double the cooking time also. The cake is a thicker cake and is sweet as others say. I also loved eating the edges I cut off. They were very good warm. It was very easy to decorate. It seems the cake had a good "crust" all over elmos face. I iced it with pretubed icing. It looked awesome. I refrigerated it for the next day....we pretty much ate it straight from the fridge so I think the cake was too cold n the icing was harder than I'd like. For the next birthday party I would do a lighter batter..this one was good tho just not good for birthdays. I think doing something with strawberries would be perfect for this recipe. Will do again and would suggest to others but make a practice one so I understand the taste. Also adding a filling would be so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Hey guys, this is a good recipe....I have a business and a client was looking for a white/yellow cake base with strawberry filling and a buttercream frosting. THIS IS IT!!! This cake reminds me a lot of another coconut cake I make that I get lots of rave reviews for. This will be the cake I use for children's parties and adults as well!! Thank you Carol for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexMex Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe was awesomeeeeeeeee!!! I used it for my son´s birthday cake in a Wilton Elmo pan and turned out perfect. I did cook it longer though. No one believed me that it was a homemade cake. I made cup cakes and the batter was great for that too. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Edible, but BARELY. Brick-like comes to mind. Very heavy and dense. It'd be more like a bread than a cake, if breads were even this heavy. Cooking time per recipe instructions is waaaaay off. At 35 minutes, the batter was still soupy. I had to double the time. Lesson learned the hard way with this recipe... always test a recipe before serving at a function. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Just like some of the other reviewers I found this cake to be very dense and the recipe a bit difficult to work with. I followed the recipe to the letter but found the batter quite thick before folding in the whites so I added a lot (1/2 C +) more milk as others suggested. I'm giving it 3 stars because the taste was good enough for me to give the recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Followed to a T and ended up with a heavy dry yellow cake. Perhaps it is the milk choice as I used a 2% milk? If there is a next time I will try whole fat milk. However, I took about 1/3rd of this cake and added two unsweetened chocolate baking squares and 1/2 cup sugar in order to make it a marble cake and also two all chocolate muffins... the chocolate portion of the cake was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is now our official birthday cake recipe! So yummy delish! It is so buttery and is not too sweet just perfect. It is so light and fluffy I am not sure why others said it was heavy. Someone said it was dry and crumbly, all I can think of is that they whipped the eggwhites too much. This recipe makes great cupcakes too! When I made it the cake rose up but as it was cooling fell inward a little bit, but that did not effect the taste. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used this recipe each week while attending a cake decorating class and it turned out great each time. The secret is folding in those hard egg white before baking- I noticed a big change when I missed that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This came out delicious! Everyone commented that it tasted like a delicious wedding cake! Definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeJulia

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made two batches for my son's 2nd birthday. One was in a 9x13 pan and the other in a Wilton 3-D Cruiser cake pan, both came out great, though the one in the Wilton pan took about 30 minutes longer in the oven. The only change I made was to add about a half teaspoon of almond extract to each cake. Delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy
Living In: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States