Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I made this cake a couple years ago and did not like it and vowed to never make it again. Then, Yesterday, I went looking for a highly rated birthday cake recipe and came across this one again. Not realizing this was the same one we intensely disliked previously, I made it again. Very Very dense. Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It was just ok, more like angle food cake. I used bakers sugar and cake flour in hopes of a light and fluffy cake. I did not want a dense cake like others spoke of- No luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
The best recipe out there!!! I baked this as a try out, and all my friends are asking me for the recipe already!!! Awesome moisture, delicious flavor...thanks a lot for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Ugh, was more like a sweet bread than a cake. Not doing this one for a birthday cake again. Glad I did a test run before the big day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
this cake was absolutely delicious! my friend made it for me for my birthday - honestly the best cake i have ever eaten. it was so moist and delicious. definitely recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
It was a very delicious cake. My family loved it!Though I changed the serving size to 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I love this cake! I made it for my mother's birthday and everybody loved it. I made it because I had all the ingredients at home. It taste buttery and moist. I put chocolate filling in the middle and decorated it with a cream cheese frosting. I would definitely do it again. I think next time I will do cupcakes with it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupeboop

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Literally tasted like a store-bought birthday cake, but fluffier and lighter. Really good recipe for a basic easy to make birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I was embarrassed to serve this at my daughter's first birthday party. I will not be making this cake again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is an AMAZING cake; however, i feel that it takes a lot of effort and i can never quite get it to turn out of the pan right (but maybe that's my problem). I have made this cake oh... 10 times and every single time i make it people just rave about it. I always have to cook it for 10 -15 minutes longer but i live at 8500 ft and it could just be the altitude. Long story short, kind of a hassle but definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States