Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So good! Not often that a layer cake gets eaten and has ppl nearly fighting for more. Non dessert eaters also eating 2 pieces says a LOT. I will make this again!!! I used the whipped cream frosting on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is also one of my mother's recipes and when she gave it to me she was a bit forgetful and forgot to mention 3 tsp. of baking powder. I am glad I found this recipe. My mom puts in a tsp. of lemon extract which gives it a nice hint of lemon in it. We also bake it for 1 hr and 15 mins on 325 in a tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I have made quite a few white cakes from scratch and followed the recipes correctly, but it was either the taste, texture, or stacking ability that lacked in my opinion. **THIS RECIPE IS BOMB!** I made it exactly as it called for, except needed to bake for another 10mins(which I was prepared for from reading a lot of reviews first). I separated the batter in to 2 9"circle pans and 1 8.75x8.75" square pan. I made the bottom tier of my cake the 2 circles and cut the square cake in to 4 triangles and made the top tier a small square. The cake didn't crumble, it held frosting great and tasted amazing! My house smelled like birthday cake for hours and everyone asked me what box mix I got (haha!!) I definitely recommend preheating the oven for at least 15mins to reach 350 and I froze the cakes in syran wrap for a day before I decorated because I had a lot to prepare, i.e. frosting and fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lillyflower
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I make cakes as a part time job and after finding this recipe a few years ago have never used anything else if asked for a vanilla sponge cake...its tasty, fluffy, cuts and shapes well and has ALWAYS had rave reviews. The only thing I have changed is that I use self raising flour as opposed to plain flour and baking powder and I reduce the heat slightly, other than that its to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillyflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rcook
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
As other reviewers reported, I had to bake the cake for more than twice as long as the recipe said (I pulled it out at 1 hr and 7 minutes, though it probably would've been better at 1 hr...). I turned the heat down to 325 and then 315, but the middle still wasn't cooking so I finally put it on a lower rack and put an empty pan on the upper rack in an attempt to get the middle cooked. Once it was done (and after I had pulled off the entire top layer, as it was quite overdone), it was the moist, light cake that others had said it would be. I think it's the right sweetness (others had said to reduce the sugar but I wouldn't change it!). I think next time I would start baking this at 325 or 315, on the lower rack with a pan covering it in an attempt to get the middle to be done sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made this cake exactly as the recipe read. It was moist and wonderful. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Baked this twice and it was denser than I thought. I didn't separate the eggs the second time but got similar results. I would add more vanilla extract (maybe a tablespoon) for more flavor. However it pairs nicely with light whipped cream and some berries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made for my son's bday. Made with xylitol and made at altitude and it came out great! Tastes like a real bakery cake! Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This birthday cake is absolute perfection... first time to make it, followed the directions exactly. I was able to make a 2-tier cake with this recipe (one 10" round & one 8" round). Cooked 45 mins. convection oven (the 8" was done at 35 mins). I covered the cake with sliced fresh strawberries (mixed strawberries in organic yogurt), bananas, kiwi and spread melted chocolate only on outside of bottom layer. The cake itself was not too sweet, so the toppings I had added complimented it perfectly that everyone at the BDay party wanted 2nds. (please see my photo)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This has become my go-to cake recipe. I get rave reviews every time I make it. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States