Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lillyflower
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I make cakes as a part time job and after finding this recipe a few years ago have never used anything else if asked for a vanilla sponge cake...its tasty, fluffy, cuts and shapes well and has ALWAYS had rave reviews. The only thing I have changed is that I use self raising flour as opposed to plain flour and baking powder and I reduce the heat slightly, other than that its to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillyflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rcook
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
As other reviewers reported, I had to bake the cake for more than twice as long as the recipe said (I pulled it out at 1 hr and 7 minutes, though it probably would've been better at 1 hr...). I turned the heat down to 325 and then 315, but the middle still wasn't cooking so I finally put it on a lower rack and put an empty pan on the upper rack in an attempt to get the middle cooked. Once it was done (and after I had pulled off the entire top layer, as it was quite overdone), it was the moist, light cake that others had said it would be. I think it's the right sweetness (others had said to reduce the sugar but I wouldn't change it!). I think next time I would start baking this at 325 or 315, on the lower rack with a pan covering it in an attempt to get the middle to be done sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made this cake exactly as the recipe read. It was moist and wonderful. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Baked this twice and it was denser than I thought. I didn't separate the eggs the second time but got similar results. I would add more vanilla extract (maybe a tablespoon) for more flavor. However it pairs nicely with light whipped cream and some berries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made for my son's bday. Made with xylitol and made at altitude and it came out great! Tastes like a real bakery cake! Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This birthday cake is absolute perfection... first time to make it, followed the directions exactly. I was able to make a 2-tier cake with this recipe (one 10" round & one 8" round). Cooked 45 mins. convection oven (the 8" was done at 35 mins). I covered the cake with sliced fresh strawberries (mixed strawberries in organic yogurt), bananas, kiwi and spread melted chocolate only on outside of bottom layer. The cake itself was not too sweet, so the toppings I had added complimented it perfectly that everyone at the BDay party wanted 2nds. (please see my photo)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This has become my go-to cake recipe. I get rave reviews every time I make it. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great cake. Everyone loved it. It was a little flanky on top but taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I could swear I followed the recipe exactly, so who knows what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I'm baking these cupcakes for my daughter’s birthday party this year. We did a test run and she loved them so much that she wants me to make extras so her friends to take one home with them. Very moist and yummy! I used the Betty Crocker homestyle frosting and turned out perfect. I checked online and found that Box and Wrap was a great place to get cupcake boxes. I have stickers, markers, and crayons so the kids decorate their own cupcake box. At least the extra baking will keep me from buying party favors to give the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States