Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great and so easy to make...I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This cake came out beautifully, but I only gave it 4 stars because I had to make a lot of adjustments. First of all, make sure to soften the butter before you mix it. This makes it easier to work with and helps melt the sugar. Secondly, I would decrease the amount of sugar in this recipe by about half a cup because it turned out very sweet. Thirdly, I had to add an extra half cup of milk to the recipe to smooth out the batter. And lastly, it was necessary for me to increase the cooking time by an extra 20 minutes before it was done. However, with all of those adjustments, the cake turned out very moist, fluffy and sweet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
very easy to follow recipe. i liked the cake, but i found the texture to be somewhat strange. all in all it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I only used 2 cake pans vs. 3, and used fresh made whipping cream with finely sliced strawberries in between the 2 layers of cake. My students loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I found this recipe very unsatisfactory and i was surprised it was given a good review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anton Ego

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is my first homemade birthday cake. I cut the recipe in half to make a smaller cake, and used 1/2c sugar and 1/2c splenda then followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Put 'Quick Fudge Icing' on top, IT TURNED OUT WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Krueger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fulton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
very good! The inside was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Amazing cake!! Made three round 8" cakes, and added red food coloring to the middle layer to make it pink, as well as swirled in a bit of dry cocoa, then completely copied another reviewer by using raspberry preserves (mixed with crushed, frozen raspberries) between each of the layers, icing it with the pro ganache from this site, and then using raspberries on top and to decorate the base. It turned out VERY good! The cake wasn't too heavy/sweet, but was balanced nicely with the fruit, and the whole thing was delicious. And, although people say this all the time on this site (haha), my sister actually said, "This could be store-bought," then corrected herself and said it was better than a store-bought cake! It was for my mom's birthday and she loved it =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pammy
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this cake for my son's 3rd birthday. As others have said, it is very dense and heavy. It was also very moist and tasted great. Everyone at the party loved it. I did have to bake it for almost twice as long as recommended in the recipe but it was worth the wait. I will definitely make it again for a friend's birthday in a few weeks time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Dense but very flavorful and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States