Happy Apple Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Gosh, you know......I followed this recipe closely making no changes or substitutions. The batter looked exactly as it should and it baked exactly as it should without issues. The one issue I'm having is that it turned out a little flavorless and the texture was off-putting. I feel terrible saying it, honestly. I shared one muffin with my two kids and after the first bite, noone really wanted any more. I think for me if I were to make this again, this would need more cinnamon (or maybe some additional spices), a little more vanilla and.......gosh, maybe something else. I can't put my finger on what it's missing. Three and a half stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These healthy and tasty muffins easily earn a 5 star rating from my crew. I grated the apple and used wheat bran in place of oat bran. I've come to expect that muffin recipes without oil are gummier than those that call for oil so the slightly chewy texture of these muffins is not off-putting for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Pretty tasty, but I did make a couple small changes....My son has a milk protein allergy, so I used vanilla flavour coconut milk yogurt. I also added a smidge more vanilla and cinnamon than called for. And I realized after I started that I was out of oat bran so I just used quick cooking oats. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. Baked them in mini muffin tins (non stick metal trays, gas oven) for 10 minutes, rotated the trays, then cooked about 5 minutes more. Perfectly moist and delicious! Normally I don't give 5 star ratings if I make changes, but I don't think anything I did was a major change from the recipe as written. 5 stars it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Based on the reviews I added the extra oil, and vanilla. I even added a little extra sugar. After baking them, I took a bite and realized it needs some salt. I wish I had added 1/2 teaspoon of salt as they are just a bit lacking on the flavor. Hopefully that will help a bit with the texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I am very happy to have found this healthy and versatile muffin recipe. I was out of yogurt, so used a mashed banana and a 1/4 cup of oil to replace it which worked well. I also think you could get away with a 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup if you are watching your sugar intake. I will definitely be experimenting with adding dried fruits or nuts as I have to agree with other reviewers who found it lacking a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Baked way longer and still have same gummy texture like they are under cooked. No one will eat them :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie Roy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This recipe did not turn out well. I substituted gluten free baking flour for the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Perkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I'm not going to lie, we ate a dozen in less then a day!!! They're that GOOD! I added 1/4 of canola oil and 1 teaspoon of vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great taste and so healthy. Super moist. Make sure you bake it enough so it won't be too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious, however I would not recommend using cups because there is no oil in these and they stuck to the paper. Use baking spray directly into the cupcake tray! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States