Hannah's Cream Cheese Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very good but I found it to be a little too sweet. I cut the powdered sugar in half the second time I made it. Also, the caramel circles only seem to be availble in the fall, so i used the unwrapped caramel peices you can find in the baking isle by the chocolate chips. 1/3 of a cup of the pieces is about 2.5 oz. I mixed them in with the apple slices and it worked beautifully. I left out the nutmeg because I'm not a big fan, but a little ginger might add some zing. I do a lot of baking and this is the best apple pie I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Reiter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This pie had good flavor, but it was runny, even after letting it sit for a few hours. I prefer a thicker apple pie. I could make some modifications to make it thicker, but think I will stick to a regular apple pie instead. For all of the calories the cream cheese adds to this, I don't think it really contributed enough to the flavor. I enjoyed the recipe on this site for Grandma Ople's apple pie much more. That was a more traditional apple pie with excellent flavor, and it was not runny....and no need for cream cheese. I don't think the flavor in this recipe was any better than a regular apple pie, and to me, that's the reason to depart from a traditional recipe. In regards to cream cheese, I have to be able to taste it, or it has to add something incredible to make it worthwhile. Otherwise, I'm not wasting the calories. Personally, I don't think this recipe was successful in that area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I made about 3 of these. My daughter doesn't like pecans, so I made one without them. It was still really good. My mother thought it was great as well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Took the advice of others, increased apples and still had to bake for an hour, then let it sit for an hour, still like soup...the flavor wasnt anything remarkable.. will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was 'pie soup'. I followed the recipe exactly. I will say that the taste is wonderful if you can stand the whole liquid filling factor. It may have been due to the juices in the apples, not sure. I'll have to work on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Tasted good, but a little too soupy for me. Maybe I'll try it again and add cornstarch to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
My husband said "the best apple pie filling I've ever had, but would be better with a streusel-type topping".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a wonderful dish that I made for my friends birthday. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I added more apples so that it would not turn out runny I also used carmel could not find the apple caramel ring due to being the wrong season of making it.I used 1/2 cup of carmel instead. Would make it again and it makes your kitchen smell wonderful too while in the oven..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made this for a dinner for a group from church. I put half as much cream cheese, brown and powdered sugar, and it was still plenty sweet enough. Everyone loved it! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was an excellant pie. My husband even liked it and he doesn't like sweets. I've never thought of putting cream cheese in a pie and it was perfectly deliscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States