Hanky Panky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Yummy! Added fresh minced onion & garlic. Stuffed into mini pitas then baked in 350° oven to give em a little crisp. Big hit at party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Love this. My mom has been making it for years, and now I do too. Served on cocktail rye bread. Also good for a low carb diet with no bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I wasn't a fan. I did stray from the original recipe and used mexican velveeta and spicy sausage. We love heat! I think it would've tasted much better with cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Grandma made this quite a bit for her kids growing up (and for us grandkids, too) only she called it Sweepstakes. She schmeared the meat on the bread, covered it with cheese and then placed it under the broiler so the cheese would be melted. It's quite cheap to make and benefits from your own choice of spices and the addition of onion and garlic. The original calls for american or processed cheese but it works with just about any cheese you have on hand. GREAT boy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GAMMA KATSY
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I make this with 1lb Lean ground beef, 1lb hot italian sausage and 1lb mexican style velveta. Then I take a good scoop of it an spread it on a slices of party rye. Then I place them on a cookie sheet and freeze them. Then put them into ziplock bags, When ready to cook I pre-heat oven to 375* and cook how ever many I need on a cookie sheet for 10 min. My husband likes hot sauce on his!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made this as directed and I was ....ok...not spectacular. My family ate it but no one really loved it. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mabank, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These are great appetizers for parties. You can make the mixture ahead of time. I remember these as a kid. They were called ZZ's party breads and instead of worcestershire sauce we used tabasco or hot sauce and the mixture was spread onto rye party bread and then baked in the oven at 350 for 10 to 15 minutes. Without cooking them in the oven, they really aren't done and don't have a crispiness to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Like many of the other reviewers, we always served this on cocktail rye growing up, but we called the Pizza Ryes or Buffalo Chips. (very appetizing!) Nowadays, my kids prefer this mixture as a dip with restaurant style tortilla chips. However you eat it, it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Very very good. Where I grew up we used to make the same mixture and put it on little party rye bread and bake in the oven for 15 minutes or so. Called them polish mistakes. They are great for a party, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
I really dressed this recipe up for flavor. It is bland the way it is. I used 1 lb beef, 1 lb hot sausage, 1 lb Velveeta and shredded Colby Jack & Mozzarella to top it off. I added 1 tsp garlic power, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tbsp Worcestershire, 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper & 1/4 tsp salt to the meat mixture before adding the cheese. For the bread, I used Rye cocktail bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States