Hanky Pankies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
It was an okay recipe. I only had enough sausage/cheese mixture for 1/2 of the loaf of bread. Maybe it is suppose to have a top..? We liked it without. Also, I froze them on a cookie sheet after I made them, they defrosted nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
I have made these for years. The bunko group likes them. Our boys heat them up for a snack in the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I haven't heard of Hanky Pankies in years! I make mine with one pound ground beef, one pound sausage, Velveeta cheese, various spices, then spread on rye cocktail bread. Great to freeze and pop under the broiler when company comes (like the Crabbies recipe on this site, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I have a similar recipe from my grandmother. She used 1 pound of ground beef and 1 pound of ground pork sausage. She would also add 1-2 tsp. of Worshestershire Sauce and instead of the process cheese sauce she used 1 brick of Velveeta. Both variations are great. My grandmother's variation makes about 50 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This is always a hit! I use 1/2 ground beef & 1/2 pork as suggested earlier - I also omit the onion & the freezer method works very well. Instead of small rye bread rounds, I get an excellent loaf of fresh rye bread from our local deli & cut each slice into quarters - the good bread definitely enhances the flavor of this appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Another great make ahead recipe. I use spicey pork sausage and a little more cheese. I also do what an earlier reviewer said and freeze. When I'm having a party I make these earlier in the week. I assemble them, put them on a tray in the freezer for about 1/2 hour, then put individual pieces in a freezer bag. On party day I take them out of the freezer and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
My sister in law made these for super bowl. She omitted the onion and baked in a 350 oven 10-15 min. Guys liked them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Went over real well and have made it a couple times. I use the small and long loaves of rye or dill bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Great recipe! My family loves this one. I get requests for it at all family get togethers. They never last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Loved these since I can remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States