Hanky Pankies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These are absolutely wonderful. This is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I used a popular brand (seasoned) pork sausage not plain ground pork. If you do that, do not use the garlic and pepper because it will be just too much. I also used the whole jar of Cheese Whiz, not just a cup. {It looks like some people have been confusing Velveeta as a cheese sauce. It isn't, you are looking for Cheese Whiz or something similar in a jar.} Next time I will try with either plain ground pork + the recipe seasonings or reuse the pork sausage w/no extra seasoning. I also used pumpernickel cocktail bread as it was all our stores had. After heating the sauce mixture, I put it on the squares and baked at 350 for about 10 minutes. They were gobbled up, but I think with the adjusted seasoning they would have been even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These are always a big hit! We put ours in a crock pot and keep it warm. This keeps the cheese mixture a nice consistency and keeps me from running to and from the oven while we have a house full of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We had a comparison test with this recipe and ‘Polish Mistakes’ another very similar AR recipe. This version was my husband’s favorite. I used a nacho cheese sauce for the processed cheese in this recipe. The instructions call for heating the ingredients and topping the bread. I took it one step further and broiled the bread once the topping was put on it. I broil with the oven door open and it took about 5 minutes to reach the broiled color I was striving for. You can also make up the mixture, spread on the cocktail rye bread, flash freeze and bag them up, once frozen. To use at a later time, pull out what you need and broil until they reach the golden color you want. This was a great snack to serve up during an Indianapolis Colts football game on a very cold Sunday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Cheese and sausage? What is not to love? YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Easy and tasty. Didn't really measure my onion or cheese, just eyeballed it. Made my own cheese sauce using cheez whiz, parm, cheddar, and herb and garlic cream cheese melted together with some cream. I think I'll try adding canned tomatoes to the leftovers for a topping on pasta. Might also add some chili powder or cayenne for a bit of kick next time. Thanks for a great new idea for sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Everyone loved this appetizer! I think that they are my husband's favorite! I think to use pumpernickel bread, cut about 1 1/2 circle (using a cookie cutter or a glass) and toast them for the base instead of the cocktail rye. I just like the look and taste better! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made these using hot Italian sausage, green onions and shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese. I used a marbled rye/pumpernickel that I cut into rounds with a biscuit cutter. Toasted my bread under the broiler on both sides and topped with the sausage mixture. Added a bit more cheese and popped them back under the broiler to melt a bit. Very good and a little spicy from the hot sausage I used. I preferred using real cheese vs. the processed sauce, which I never buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very rich, but tasty. Grocery didn't have the small pieces of cocktail rye bread, but did have unsliced pumpernickel buns, which I cut up into 24 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made them for a happy hour get together, they were a hit! My husband said he could of eaten them all but didn't want to look like a pig :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States