Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I made this recipe one night for some very picky children...they loved it! We have this almost once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This recipe was great! At first I didn't simmer it enough then after about 45 min. I stirred it and couldn't believe how thick and sweet it was. No way did this taste like ketchup after it has simmered! The meatballs were really flavorful too! Make sure you add enough onion chunks because that's what make this gravy so good. My husband added hot sauce on his plate because he likes everything hot. I didn't make it with noodles tho, I just made them as is and had some veggies and made some biscuits and it was wonderful! I will definatly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I enjoyed this dish. It was a good little week night recipe. Fairly quick and easy. The hamburgers were very moist and favorful. I served it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This was a quick & delicious meal...the burgers were so moist & tasteful. The whole family loved them over egg noodles. I will definitly add this to my weekly menu .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
thank you so much for this recipe, my family loved it and so did i yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I have made this several times and keep forgetting to rate the recipe! My family really enjoys this and it is quick and easy. The key to getting a gravy that is not too ketchupy is the scraping of the bits of ground beef stuck to the pan and onions! Even if you don't eat the onions i think it adds to the flavor !Then adding the ground beef patties to simmer adds even more flavor!!We eat it over egg noodles! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
My family loved this recipe! I made the meat into meatballs, and had no problem with them trying to fall apart. They stayed together nicely. I made them pretty small so maybe that helped.. I didnt think that the gravy or the meatballs tasted like ketchup at all. The trick must be in adding a large onion and really simmering it. (Even though I didnt eat the chunks of onion.) We didnt think it tasted like sloppy joes or meatloaf at all either. Myself, my husband and my 3 year old really liked it. He said "yummy yummy mommy". Also we didnt serve them over noodles, just by themselves with side dishes of mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. We all agreed that it would probably be gross if it were to be served over noodles. Anyways, I think you should give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I was kind of hesitant about this one but after it was finshed it was wonderful. My whole family and best friend really enjoyed it. And it's great to feed several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
We really liked this recipe, but as some other reviewers experienced, there was a problem with the meatballs not holding together. To overcome this we cut the ketchup to 1/4 cup in the meat mixture, and added a beaten egg. If you are alergic to eggs.... add 1 tablespoon all purpose flour instead... and go back to the 1/2 cup ketchup. We also added garlic powder, which enhanced the flavor even more. YUMMMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is very good and very simple. Great over noodles. The only problem I had was the hamburger fell apart somewhat. It didn't effect the flavor, so it doesn't bother me. The only changes were I add more ketchup to the gravy and some garlic. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States