Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
harry liked and I loved ... didnt have enough ketchup for the gravy part so used 1/2c tomato soup and 1/2c ketchup ... patties stuck toghether ok but maybe mix in egg next time .. also used panko instead bread crumbs ... not sure that make a difference or not but this a good change of pace ... better than meatloaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was really good! It definitely needs some tweaking the next time though...and there will be a next time! The taste was 5 star worthy, but the patties fell apart badly and after simmering 30 minutes, the patties were kind of mushy. It looked more like sloppy joe than a burger but it was still yummy served over oven baked french fries though! Next time I will use less ketchup in the patties and add an egg as a binder. I needed to add a lot more water(wound up using close to a cup and a half)to keep it from sticking and burning, then when it was almost done, I left the lid off for 5 minutes to thicken up. This is definitely some really good comfort food, thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I'm giving this 4 stars as it is a wonderful base recipe ! TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This tasted like breaded hamburgers that marinated in ketchup for hours. Strong Ketchup taste. I didn't really like it but my nine year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
these were very tasty, my family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanecoco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a great quick weekday recipe. I sliced the onion thin and substituted worcestershire for the steak sauce. I also added a pinch of garlic powder as did another reviewer. Served it with a grocery-brand prepared mashed potatoes. 45 minutes of simmering (30 covered,stir,then 10- 15 minutes uncovered REAL low)gave me good results with a just right thick gravy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We served it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Osakis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this Friday, didn't have any ground hamburger so I just used the frozen patties I had on hand and seasoned with my regular buger mix seasoning. My son loved I enjoyed it also thanks for the recipe will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECURLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My family loves this! I made it one night when I wanted meatloaf but was short on time. This is fantastic, we now have it on a weekly basis, and I get cheers each time! The only thing that I changed was using crispy onions instead of bread crumbs and replacing the other onions with bacon. Oh, and I replaced the steak seasoning with a bullion cube just because I never have steak seasoning on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Tastes good, but didn't work out the way I hoped. I did meatballs and they fell apart....then I let them simmer and it soaked up all of the water and I ended up burning them. Next time I will just use my common sense. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki LaFroscia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States