Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Yummy!! There is nothing misleading about this recipe. It amazes me how people will give a negative review about how they think it is too ketchupy or too sweet. The title says Hamburgers and KETCHUP gravy and the discription says it thickens into a SWEET gravy. Gee, I mean what do you expect? I thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I have to rated this recipe a 5 because my family really enjoyed it. I would not rate this a very "special" meal...more of an "everyday" dish. I served it with pasta and a green salad and a week later my family requested that I make it again.This time I served it with mashed potatos and fresh green beans. This is a versatile dish and easy to make. Since my family liked it so much I think I will get several pounds of ground beef and make the patties up and store them in the freezer so they are available for a quick but easy meal. Thanks Jennifer this will make the summer meal planning a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This recipe was great! At first I didn't simmer it enough then after about 45 min. I stirred it and couldn't believe how thick and sweet it was. No way did this taste like ketchup after it has simmered! The meatballs were really flavorful too! Make sure you add enough onion chunks because that's what make this gravy so good. My husband added hot sauce on his plate because he likes everything hot. I didn't make it with noodles tho, I just made them as is and had some veggies and made some biscuits and it was wonderful! I will definatly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
We really liked this recipe, but as some other reviewers experienced, there was a problem with the meatballs not holding together. To overcome this we cut the ketchup to 1/4 cup in the meat mixture, and added a beaten egg. If you are alergic to eggs.... add 1 tablespoon all purpose flour instead... and go back to the 1/2 cup ketchup. We also added garlic powder, which enhanced the flavor even more. YUMMMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
My family loved this recipe! I made the meat into meatballs, and had no problem with them trying to fall apart. They stayed together nicely. I made them pretty small so maybe that helped.. I didnt think that the gravy or the meatballs tasted like ketchup at all. The trick must be in adding a large onion and really simmering it. (Even though I didnt eat the chunks of onion.) We didnt think it tasted like sloppy joes or meatloaf at all either. Myself, my husband and my 3 year old really liked it. He said "yummy yummy mommy". Also we didnt serve them over noodles, just by themselves with side dishes of mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. We all agreed that it would probably be gross if it were to be served over noodles. Anyways, I think you should give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Made this tonight and loved it. Good food for a cold night. I read all of the reviews and the only thing I changed was that I added an egg to help the meat stick together. I made meatballs rather than patties and it was very good. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This was a quick & delicious meal...the burgers were so moist & tasteful. The whole family loved them over egg noodles. I will definitly add this to my weekly menu .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
We call this Serbian Steak at our house(kind of a joke, we Serbs didn't have money for real steak) and make it with round steak and lots of onions. Takes a few hours of simmering in a slow oven. We serve with fried potatoes and rustic bread. Use organic ketchup to avoid high fructose corn syrup. You really don't need seasoning other than onions. Many people tend to forget that ketchup is quite a complex sauce, which you'll find if you ever make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
PEEERRRRFECT!! Deffinetly a family meal. Maybe the plain presentation isn't all that, but you can ad your own variation at the end. This is something everybody will like.Yes,EVERYBODY!! I did it with Macaroni and I put a little cheese on top,and let it melt! D-Licious!! Who knew that so much ketchup can make a delicious meal! 5 STARS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
this was delicious. i added a bit of beef boullion to the gravy. very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States