Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This was a quick & delicious meal...the burgers were so moist & tasteful. The whole family loved them over egg noodles. I will definitly add this to my weekly menu .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This recipe was great! At first I didn't simmer it enough then after about 45 min. I stirred it and couldn't believe how thick and sweet it was. No way did this taste like ketchup after it has simmered! The meatballs were really flavorful too! Make sure you add enough onion chunks because that's what make this gravy so good. My husband added hot sauce on his plate because he likes everything hot. I didn't make it with noodles tho, I just made them as is and had some veggies and made some biscuits and it was wonderful! I will definatly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Pretty easy to make - but not really worth the effort. I made meatballs instead of patties and while they were tender and pretty good, the "gravy", no matter how long you simmer - tastes like ketchup. My 7 year old, who puts ketchup on everything, liked it, but I just felt like I was eating meatballs and noodles drowned in ketchup. If you LOVE ketchup then this is worth trying - otherwise, keep scrolling. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYOUS_E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I enjoyed this dish. It was a good little week night recipe. Fairly quick and easy. The hamburgers were very moist and favorful. I served it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Gordon Peo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
"Outstanding" was what my husband said about this dish. I disagree with a previous reviewer that it tasted too much like ketchup. I will definitely make this dish again and again. A switch from plain hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Hubby is a burger "freak". Once a week, while I'm working evenings the studio, he has to have his burger fix. I didn't think he'd enjoy this recipe, which is fine because I made it for myself and Tyler using ground turkey. Ground turkey begs for moisture, so this was perfect. Ty is starving when we get home from dance and she inhaled these burgers. Nice and moist Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I made this recipe one night for some very picky children...they loved it! We have this almost once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I thought this recipe was pretty good! It wasn't what I expected at all. To me, it tasted like a great meatloaf! The hamburgers didn't stay together all that well with me, but still a great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I didnt have the onion powder or steak seasoning, but deciced to try the meatball version of this recipie. I actually put in some canned pineapple chunks and it turned out pretty good! Very much like sweet and sour. I think it needs less ketchup in the hamburger though, the meatballs couldnt quite hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
These were good but a little too moist from so much ketchup in the mix. The ketchup taste is a bit overwhelming and makes the burgers taste more like sloppy joes. Like others, the burgers didn't want to hold together real well. I will probably just stick with hamburgers or sloppy joes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States