Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This sees too good to be true, but it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Wow! I just made this for dinner tonight and my mother and husband loved it! I doubled the recipe because we love left overs. When I suggested to my husband that he take some extra to work to share with his co-workers, he said "NO WAY!" I guess he didn't want to share! It did not taste like ketchup either. Sweet, but tasty! It hit the spot! This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My family jumped right on this one. We served it over rice which I highly recommend. Although I did meatballs next time I will make patties. Patties are easier to brown crispy on the outside then the meatball. The mixture is a little fragile and meatballs require a little more handling in the frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
They do tend to be fragile so handle with care.Maybe an egg added would bind them but also it could change the taste. I didn't have quite enough ketchup for the cup in the sauce so I added a little bottled barbeque sauce to make up the difference. These were so good. They would be good on a nice bun too but I served them plated with Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans (from all recipes) and a homemade banana raisin bread. Such good comfort food on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Nice base recipe. Made meatballs instead of patties - baked/broiled 400 degrees for 20 minutes instead of frying. Like the idea of simmering in ketchup sauce - tastes good. Next time i will add salt/pepper, minced garlic, beef bouillon, and green pepper/onion to the meat mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I was happily surprised with this recipe. My family liked it too - even my husband who does not like ketchup ate it - and said it was good :) I served with egg noodles for dinner...but when I reheated it for lunch the next day I served it over rice, which was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Definitely will make and serve again. Served it with rice (that I cooked with beef broth instead of water), green beans, tossed salad and biscuits. The men in the household went back for seconds...always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this is not bad at all , but the meat falls apart ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stoner69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is similar to what my beloved, late mother-in-law used to make. She didn't write this one down, but I think the essence lives on with this recipe. Added a few finely (finely) minced shallots to the meat mixture and threw in 2 sage leaves, and a few rosemary leaves during the simmering phase. Will make again. Really very comforting. Somehow slightly over-salted this the first time -- something to keep an eye on. since i've added a pinch of ground sausage. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States