Hamburgers and Ketchup Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This sees too good to be true, but it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Wow! I just made this for dinner tonight and my mother and husband loved it! I doubled the recipe because we love left overs. When I suggested to my husband that he take some extra to work to share with his co-workers, he said "NO WAY!" I guess he didn't want to share! It did not taste like ketchup either. Sweet, but tasty! It hit the spot! This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My family jumped right on this one. We served it over rice which I highly recommend. Although I did meatballs next time I will make patties. Patties are easier to brown crispy on the outside then the meatball. The mixture is a little fragile and meatballs require a little more handling in the frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
They do tend to be fragile so handle with care.Maybe an egg added would bind them but also it could change the taste. I didn't have quite enough ketchup for the cup in the sauce so I added a little bottled barbeque sauce to make up the difference. These were so good. They would be good on a nice bun too but I served them plated with Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans (from all recipes) and a homemade banana raisin bread. Such good comfort food on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Nice base recipe. Made meatballs instead of patties - baked/broiled 400 degrees for 20 minutes instead of frying. Like the idea of simmering in ketchup sauce - tastes good. Next time i will add salt/pepper, minced garlic, beef bouillon, and green pepper/onion to the meat mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I was happily surprised with this recipe. My family liked it too - even my husband who does not like ketchup ate it - and said it was good :) I served with egg noodles for dinner...but when I reheated it for lunch the next day I served it over rice, which was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Definitely will make and serve again. Served it with rice (that I cooked with beef broth instead of water), green beans, tossed salad and biscuits. The men in the household went back for seconds...always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this is not bad at all , but the meat falls apart ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stoner69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is similar to what my beloved, late mother-in-law used to make. She didn't write this one down, but I think the essence lives on with this recipe. Added a few finely (finely) minced shallots to the meat mixture and threw in 2 sage leaves, and a few rosemary leaves during the simmering phase. Will make again. Really very comforting. Somehow slightly over-salted this the first time -- something to keep an eye on. since i've added a pinch of ground sausage. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I thought is was real ketchup tasting gravy. I used Heinz ketchup and maybe that is to strong. It was good but real spicy. Will make it again, but will change the amount of ketchup. rate 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States